## **Communications Director Report for the OK-AR 2016 Meeting**

Despite multiple requests, there are advertisements from neither publishers nor universities in the newsletter.

Members were reminded of the upcoming meeting several ways: The website, which is updated promptly after information is received from the committees; emailed messages through the national office; one emailing to all the Oklahoma-Arkansas department chairs using addresses supplied by Carolyn Eoff; and one emailing from my contact list. It is assumed that the chairs will communicate the meeting deadlines to their faculty. We added an open session to accommodate the few who missed the abstract deadline,

No postcards mailed and the newsletter is only on the Section website. The Executive Committee approved of this decision for two reasons: There were no advertisements from the newsletter to pay for it, and they were reluctant to subsidize it. Also, there was a consensus that it was antiquated because of the prevalence of electronic communication.

The mean number of campus-news submissions since 2007 is 8.1, but only five chairs contributed to the newsletter as of March 29. This is the only outlier for the past ten years and is a little over two standard deviations below the mean.

In alphabetical order by first name, I appreciate the assistance of Amy Schachle, Andy Miller, Anita Walker, Carolyn Eoff, Jill Guerra, Kristi Karber, Lisa Mantini, Margaret Maurer (national office), Ramesh Garimella, Ron Smith, Scott McClendon, the department chairs, and others who contributed to the website and newsletter.

Respectfully submitted, Michael Lloyd, Communications Director March 29, 2016

## **OK-AR MAA** CampusNews 2012 2008 2016 Year

Dashed lines are mean and +-2SD.