## Oklahoma-Arkansas Section of the MAA Minutes for the 2009 Business Meeting Southwestern Oklahoma State University

The annual business meeting was called to order by chair **Jill Guerra** at Southwestern Oklahoma State University, at 2:00 p.m., Friday, March 27, 2009. There were approximately 25 members present.

(Note: Due to the inclement weather, the business meeting was rescheduled from its announced location and time. The remainder of the annual meeting was cancelled after the business meeting adjourned.)

The minutes of the 2008 business meeting were approved. Linda Braddy, East Central University, gave the treasurer's report for 2008. She supplied copies of the yearly report submitted to the national office showing the following:

	Checking/Shares	Co	urt CD
Beginning balances, 12-31-2007	\$12,336.87	<b>\$</b> 14	4,902.08
Revenues during the year	\$ 5,766.30	\$	551.30
Expenses during the year	\$ 5,018.00	\$	0.00
Ending balances, 12-31-2008	\$13,085.17		\$15,453.38

**Linda Braddy,** East Central University, supplied an account of all receipts and expenditures from 1-1-2008 through 12-31-2008. All Section funds were transferred to East Central Credit Union in Ada, Oklahoma on June 23, 2008. As of December 31, 2008 the balance in the share-checking account was \$2,850.94, the balance in regular shares (savings) was \$2,176.74, and the balance in the share CD was \$8,057.49, giving a total of \$13,085.17. This includes \$10,774.27 in the operating account, \$551.06 in Court funds (this is separate from the Court CD), and \$1,759.84 in the faculty workshop account. The treasurer's report was approved.

No audit report was presented.

**Charles Cooper**, University of Central Oklahoma, gave the Governor's report. He provided a brief summary of the Governor's meeting he attended at MathFest 2008. He expressed gratitude to the membership for the opportunity to serve as governor. Charles noted that the section has the opportunity to nominate an individual for a Meritorious Service Award from MAA. There was a motion and second to nominate John Watson for the award. The motion passed.

**Myron Rigsby**, University of Arkansas – Fort Smith, gave the Department Chairs/Liaisons report.

**Kathy Pinzon**, University of Arkansas – Fort Smith, gave a report on the undergraduate student competitions. 14 teams competed in Math Jeopardy and 26 students in the Integration Bee.

**Jill Guerra** reported that Linda Braddy of East Central University and David Bressoud from the MAA made presentations to the Section NExT sessions.

Lee Turner, Southern Nazarene University, gave the site selection report. Invitations have been received from John Brown University for 2010, the University of Central Oklahoma for 2011, and Henderson State University for 2012. The meeting dates are March 26 - 27, 2010, March 25 - 26, 2011, and either March 23-24 or March 30-31, 2012. The proposed sites and dates were approved.

Under new business, there was a discussion regarding refunds of registrations and banquet fees due to the cancellation of the majority of the meeting. It was noted that many expenses in support of the meeting had already been incurred. Also the organizing committee had been able to cancel the banquet without penalty. A motion and second was made to not refund meeting registrations and to have the executive committee decide on refunds of banquet fees. The motion passed.

Lee Turner, Southern Nazarene University, presented the following nominations:

Past-Chair	Jill Guerra, University of Arkansas at Fort Smit
Chair	Gerald East, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
1 <sup>st</sup> Vice-Chair	Frank Blume, John Brown University
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chair	Jesse Byrne, University of Central Oklahoma
Treasurer	Linda Braddy, East Central University
Secretary	Lee Turner, Southern Nazarene University
Newsletter Editor	Michael Lloyd, Henderson State University

The chair, **Jill Guerra**, asked whether there were nominations from the floor. **Darryl Linde**, Northeastern State University, nominated **John Diamantopoulos** for the office of treasurer. There were no other nominations from the floor. Paper ballots were distributed to the members present and **Linda Braddy** was elected. The nominees for the other offices were elected by acclamation.

Lee Turner, Southern Nazarene University speaking for the Court Lecture Committee, nominated **Robert Myers**, Oklahoma State University, to serve on the Court Lecture Committee. He was elected by acclamation.

There were no resolutions due to the early termination of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 2:30 p.m.