President's Message

It's hard to believe that the academic year is now more than half over! Even the spring term is passing along at quite a clip. I hope your term is off to a smooth start.

A lot is happening in the Section these days. Thanks again to Judy McCrory at the University of Findlay for a wonderful fall meeting, and thanks also to David Singer for preparing a great program. Dick Little, George Francis, Sergei Tabachnikov, and Mark Meckes each gave outstanding talks. There were also nineteen contributed talks. The Committee on Section Activities (CONSACT) hosted their first fall workshop, led by Barbara D'Ambrosia who shared her expertise on GeoGebra. The fall workshop model is something new we are trying because the summer short courses were not drawing the number of participants that they once did. If the attendance and response from GeoGebra workshop is any indication, we have a successful alternative to the short courses. Thank you to all who provided input as we made this transition. Watch for details about next fall's workshop!

Please join us in Cincinnati on April 13th and 14th at Xavier University for the 96th annual meeting of the Ohio Section. We are privileged to have Jeffery Lagarias from the University of Michigan, who is an MAA Pólya Lecturer. The other invited speakers (for whom we are equally excited to have speak!) include Rachel Hall from Saint Joseph's University and Aparna Higgins from the University of Dayton. There is even a rumor that I might speak as the retiring president. As a new twist, in place of the usual after-dinner speaker, Matheatre's "Calculus: The Musical," will be performed. I have heard wonderful things about the show and am looking forward to the laughs it promises, being billed as "a comic 'review' of the concepts and history of Calculus."

In Section news, I am pleased to announce that Carl Spitznagel from John Carroll has stepped into Wiebke Diestelkamp's shoes as the Section Liaison Coordinator. This comes at an opportune time since she will be inducted as president at the conclusion of the Xavier meeting. Thank you, Wiebke, for your years of serve as the Coordinator and good luck next year! I know we will be in good hands. The section is also excited that David Stuckey from Defiance College has agreed to serve as the Newsletter Editor. Thanks to Barbara D'Ambrosia for the many years you have devoted to this position.

In addition to our typical elections, we will be voting on an amendment to the bylaws at the yearly business meeting. The duties and compositions of all section committees are delineated in the bylaws with one exception – the Teaching Award Committee. The amendment will address this exclusion. Please look for more information about the amendment elsewhere in this issue of the Ohio Focus. You should also have received an email from the National MAA about voting for Section Governor as. Our candidates are Barbara D'Ambrosia and Dick Little. Voting for Governor runs through March 14th.

As president, I must say that I am humbled by the devotion and hard work that I see from so many of you who serve the Section. It has truly been an honor to be given this responsibility. If you are ever interested in serving the section, I and the many others who have held positions can tell you how rewarding it is. There are almost always ways to get involved and the best way to do so is contact the president or one of the committee chairs.

See you in Cincinnati!

Business meeting action item

At the business meeting on Friday evening, the Section will be discussing the following proposed amendment to the Section bylaws. Any modifications to the amendment must be approved by a majority of those present at the meeting. According to the procedures outlined in our bylaws, the amendment will then be voted on via a mail-in ballot that will be distributed some time soon after the conclusion of the meeting. If approved, the amendment will appear as item 12 in Article IV in the bylaws.

Proposed amendment:

The Teaching Award Committee shall consist of the Past President of The Section, the Secretary of The Section, and the two most recent teaching award recipients who are members of The Section, but not the current teaching award recipient. The President may appoint committee members should any committee member not be available to serve. The Past President shall be the Chair of the Teaching Award Committee. The Teaching Award Committee shall be responsible for soliciting and receiving nominations for the Section Teaching award. Deadlines for nominations shall be set to allow sufficient time to select the winner and forward the name to the national office to be nominated for the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. Nominees for the section award must meet the eligibility requirements for the Haimo Award. Award winners shall be announced at the Annual Meeting and will be invited to speak at the fall meeting of the following calendar year.