Call for Nominations for the 2018 Ohio Section Distinguished Teaching Award

There are many outstanding mathematics educators in the Ohio Section, and one way to recognize them for their excellence is to nominate them for the Ohio Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. If you know of such an outstanding educator, please consider nominating him or her for this honor.

To make a nomination, complete the one-page nomination form, write a description of why you have chosen to nominate this individual, and solicit recommendations from colleagues and current or former students. Nomination forms and detailed instructions are available from the Ohio MAA Website at Nominees must be members of the MAA and the Ohio Section, and they must have more than seven years of teaching experience in the mathematical sciences at the college/university level.

The award will be presented at the 2018 Spring Meeting of the Ohio Section, and appropriate publicity will be generated at the winner’s home institution. The winner will become the Ohio Section’s nominee for the MAA’s 2018 Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. Past Ohio Section winners who have gone on to receive the Haimo Award are Aparna Higgins (University of Dayton, 2005) and V. Frederick Rickey (Bowling Green State University, 1993).

Nominations should be sent to Pam Warton, Secretary of the Ohio Section of the MAA, via email to (preferred) or via postal mail to Pam Warton, Department of Mathematics, University of Findlay, 1000 N. Main St., Findlay, OH  45840.

If you have questions or comments, please contact Katie Cerrone, Chair of the Teaching Award Committee, at or 330-972-8809.

The nomination deadline is January 1, 2018.