MAA-NCS Section NExT

Join the North Central Section NExT!

Designed for new college and university faculty in the mathematical sciences, Section NExT (New Experiences in Teaching) is a professional development program that addresses the full range of faculty responsibilities including teaching, scholarly activities, and service.

Special Thanks to our Institutional Members

The following institutions are 2019 NCS Institutional Members.  Membership fees support the work and activities of Section NExT. The cost for an Institutional Membership is $25/year.  Please contact the section treasurer for more information. 

Augsburg College Concordia University St. Paul South Dakota State University
Augustana University Gustavus Adolphus College University of Minnesota Morris
Bemidji State University Macalaster College University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Carleton College North Dakota State University Winona State University
Concordia College Moorhead    

Our Goals

The goals for the North Central Section NExT are:

Join Us!

Each year, applications will be solicited for new MAA-NCS Section NExT fellows to serve for a two year term. We will accept applications from faculty who are within the first four years of beginning full-time employment with teaching responsibilities at the college or university level. The application consists of a short personal statement and a letter of support from the department chair.

A Section NExT fellow will attend meetings of the North Central Section of the MAA. At each meeting there will be special activities for the Section NExT fellows.

The Section will provide financial support for the evening dinner at the fall and spring NExT meetings and pay for registration for NExT fellows at the fall and spring MAA-NCS meetings.

National NExT fellows within the North Central Section in their first fours years of teaching are automatically Section NExT fellows and are encouraged to participate in Section NExT activities!

Application Form

Useful Links

Contact Us

Please address questions to the leadership group for the North Central Section NExT Program:


Namyong Lee
Professor of Mathematics
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Aaron Wangberg
Professor of Mathematics
Winona State University

John Zobitz
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Augsburg College

Lori Ziegelmeier
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Macalester College

Comments or corrections can be sent to the webmaster.