The Mathematical Association of America

North Central Section



NCS MAA Officers’ Meeting Minutes, October 29, 2004

Present:  Jennifer Galovich, Dan Kemp, Joel Iiams, Wally Sizer, Dale Buske, Jason Douma, Co Livingston, Matt Richey, Tom Sibley, (Paul Zorn, guest)


Jennifer distributed copies of a flyer for the summer workshop on Bioinformatics.  Dates are July 18-22, 2005.  It will be at the University of Minnesota, Duluth.  Laurie Heyer will be the principal lecturer.  Suggestions were made as to possible biologists to invite as an additional resource person.  Harlan Stech is handling the local arrangements.  The officers agreed to a plan to use section funds to waive registration for up to 5 full time untenured faculty employed at a section school for fall, 2005. 


Jason reported no problems with the web site.  He indicated that he will be trying to change the map logo on the web site to conform with our new section boundaries.


Wally reported that the bylaws revisions are still being considered by the committee on sections at the national level.


Dan circulated his Governor’s report.  Highlights included:

  1. The MAA’s finances are sound.  The investment committee is looking for qualified members interested in helping handle investments.

  2. Martha Siegel was elected to another 5-year term as MAA Secretary and Tina Strayley will be Executive Director for another 5-year term as well.

  3. More Math Undergraduate Conference funding will be available.

  4. Steven Rudich of Carnegie Mellon University is the new Polya Lecturer for 2004-6.

  5. Memberships can now be renewed online.

  6. The College Mathematics Journal is looking for reviewers.

  7. Teaching Award nominations are due March 1, 2005.

  8. Institutional memberships on the national level are encouraged.

  9. National meetings are in Atlanta, January 5-8, 2005 and Albuquerque, NM, August 4-6, 2005.


Tom circulated the treasurer’s report.  Section finances are in good shape; in fact there is enough money so we can consider spending down.  Some money might go to section NExT programming, and some might subsidize participation in the summer workshop (see above).


Suggestions were made for appointments to the nominating committee, the committee to choose the section distinguished teacher awardee, and the committee to choose the section meritorious service awardee.  The nominations committee needs to nominate people for the positions of president-elect, treasurer, student chapter coordinator, and member at large (Joel’s position).  To stagger terms of secretary and treasurer, Wally agreed to serve another year as secretary if, as expected, he is not awarded a sabbatical for 2005-2006.


Our next meeting will be at St. Olaf College April 22-23, 2005.  Speakers will be Su Doree and Steve Dunbar.  Suggestions were offered for possible hosts for the fall 2005 and spring 2006 meetings, and for speakers.  Dale will be responsible for finding speakers (once host institutions and dates are finalized).



Wally Sizer, secretary

Last updated on Friday, November 05, 2004 .