The Mathematical Association of America

North Central Section


North Central Section, Mathematical Association of America

Business Meeting, April 24, 2007

College of St. Catherine

St. Paul, Minnesota


President Steve Kennedy, presiding

1.      Reports:

A) Treasurer – Randy Westhoff

    Have about $1000 more than last year.  Have used institutional memberships to fund Section Project NExT.  Have 29

    institutional memberships – 9 more than last year. 

    The board has agreed to have up to five $100 awards available to students who speak at a Fall Meeting.

 B) Secretary – Colleen Livingston

     There are 93 attendees at this meeting. 

C) Governor – Dan Kemp No report.

    Thanks to Dan Kemp for his service.

D) Information Officer – Jason Douma No report, but be sure to visit the site.

    Thanks to Jason Douma for his service. 

E) Student Chapter Coordinator – Richard Jarvinen

    MAA has distributed a survey to chapter advisors.  There seems to be some indication that Headquarters might provide

    more guidance to chapters.

 F) President – Steve Kennedy

i. Elections – Nominations from Nominating Committee

a) President:  Su Doreč

b) At large: Kris Nairn

c) Information Officer: Shawn Chiappetta


    No additional nominations were submitted.  All candidates were elected.

Governor (done by mail): Jennifer Galovich

         ii.  Summer Seminar – Registration is open.

                We are in competition with the celebration of MAA President Joe Gallian’s 60th birthday.

2.      We will be sending both postcards and emails to distribute meeting information.  Let the board know if one or the other works better for you.

3.      Jerry Heuer:  NCS Problem-solving competition results -  St. Olaf/Macalester tied with perfect scores.

      4.      The passing of former NCS Governor Sylvan Burgstahler and long-time member Steve Galovich were noted.  Obituaries

            are on the section website.

      5.      Future Meetings

Bemidji State University, October 19, 20, 2007.  David Appleyard and Jim Tattersall will be speaking.

St. Ben’s/St. John’s Colleges – Deanna Haupsberger, Karen Saxe,  This will either be April 18, 19 or April 25, 26 of 2008.

6.      Section Awards – Nominate your colleagues!

      a)                 Teaching Award Winner: Karen Saxe, Macalester College.  Karen was recognized for her classroom teaching,

                  her work on advanced specialty classes, revising a general education course and being a source of teaching

                  advice for other faculty. 

b)                 Service Award Winner:  Mike Hvidsten, Gustavus Adolphus.  Mike was recognized for his extensive work with the section working with MAA student chapters, as secretary/treasurer, and webmaster.  He worked on Discovery Based Geometry under an NSF grant and has served on national committees.  Currently we benefit from Mike’s work guiding the Section Project NExT.

Submitted April 16, 2007

Colleen Livingston

NCS-MAA Secretary


Last updated on Tuesday, May 22, 2007 .