The Mathematical Association of America

North Central Section


North Central Section, Mathematical Association of America

Business Meeting, April 22, 2006

Minnesota State University - Mankato

Mankato, Minnesota


President Dale Buske, presiding


Information Officer Jason Douma thanked those who had submitted news for the section newsletter.  He drew attention to the new section map logo on the web site and to the revised instructions on the web site for hosting meetings.

Treasurer Randy Westhoff circulated his report, indicating that section finances were in good shape.  He noted there were 20 institutional section memberships this year, and reported the decision of the officers that institutional membership dues would go into the section NExT account.

Governor Dan Kemp reported that the national organization is in great shape financially, physically (renovations of the carriage house property are proceeding well), and intellectually (book sales are good and the association has several Professional Enhancement Program offereings for this summer).

Dick Jarvinen reported that there are 15 student chapters in the section, and emphasized that student chapter members are eligible for funding to make presentations at Mathfest.

Secretary Wally Sizer reported that there were 59 in attendance at the meeting (correction:  60).

Steve Kennedy announced the 2007 section summer seminar, which will be held July 16-20 at Carleton College.  Professor Jonathan Borwein will be presenting “Experimental Mathematics in Action:  Insight through Computation”.  Steve encouraged early registration, as enrollment will be limited.

Dale reported that the Nominating Committee had put forward the names of Colleen Livingston for secretary (3 year term), Tom Sibley for president-elect (then president and past-president, 3 years total), and Ryan Zerr for member-at-large (2 year term).  Despite ample time no nominations were made from the floor, and the proposed candidates were elected.

The section undergraduate team mathematics contest was announced for Saturday, Nov. 11, 2006.

Deanna Haunsperger announced that the 2015 Mathfest in Washington, DC, would be celebrating the association’s centennial.  Suggestions for special activities should be addressed to Steve Kennedy.  Also, the section banner should be displayed on that occasion, and it is missing; anyone knowing its location should report it to the officers!  Further, Ralph Carr, the section archivist, is collecting historical information to be included in centennial notes or filed in the archives.  Jerry Bergum also has compiled a section history and will be cooperating on the section history for the centennial.

Upcoming meetings were announced:  in the fall we will meet October 27-28 at the University of Minnesota—Morris, and in spring, 2007, we are scheduled to meet at the College of St. Catherine in St. Paul.

Dale handed out 25 and 50 year membership certificates.

Mike Hvidsten introduced section NExT members.

The host institution and especially Namyong Lee and Ernie Boyd were thanked for hosting our meeting.  Dale also thanked officers whose terms are ending:  Jennifer Galovich as past president, Wally Sizer as secretary, and co Livingston as member at large.

Dale announced that Sylvan Burgstahler was in poor health with cancer, and circulated a card for him.

The section Distinguished Teaching Award was presented to Professor David Appleyard, and the section Meritorious Service Award was presented to Professor Dan Kemp.


Submitted—Wally Sizer, secretary


Last updated on Wednesday, September 06, 2006 .