The Mathematical Association of America

North Central Section


North Central Section, Mathematical Association of America

Business Meeting, April 24, 2004

Winona State University

Winona, Minnesota


President Matt Richey presided.


Tom Sibley gave a brief treasurer’s report.  Basically, section finances are going well.  He noted nine institutional memberships in the last six months.  Rather than sending out an appeal for institutional memberships now, he will send one out in early fall.  He noted the success of the math contest held in the fall of each year.


Nominees for President—Dale Buske—and Member-at-large—Co Livingston—were announced.  The floor was opened to other nominations, of which there were none, and the nominees were elected.  It was announced that Dan Kemp has been elected to be the new section governor, starting July 1.


The previously announced proposed changes to the section by-laws were brought up for discussion.  After some discussion they were unanimously approved.  They need further action on the national level before becoming official.


Future meetings were announced for October 29-30, 2004, at North Dakota State University in Fargo, and for some weekend in April, 2005, at St. Olaf  College in Northfield.  Institutions are needed to host meetings starting in fall of 2005.


Mike Hvidsten presented the governor’s report.  He spoke of a new careers brochure put together by the MAA that departments may want to use.  He mentioned the ACCESS program for new community college faculty.  The national MAA archives are to be located at the University of Texas, and copies of appropriate section records should be archived there.  This summer the MAA is sponsoring a study tour of England.  At the section level Mike indicated that there would be some NExT activities at the next spring meeting.


Jennifer Galovich told of the next summer workshop, which will be in 2005.  The University of Minnesota Duluth will host a workshop on Bioinformatics.  Dates and speaker(s) names should be available this summer.


Officers finishing their terms (Randy Westhoff as Member-at-large, and Matt Richey as President) were thanked.  Thanks were extended to Steve Leonhardi and others who worked on local arrangements at Winona for setting up a smooth-running meeting.


Gail Nelson was presented the section Meritorious Service Award.  The Distinguished Teacher Award was presented to Suzanne Doree.


Twenty-five and fifty year membership certificates were announced and presented.


Submitted—Wally Sizer, section secretary


Last updated on Wednesday, April 28, 2004 .