The Mathematical Association of America

North Central Section



Minutes of the NCS/MAA Business Meeting held April 27, 2002 at St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud, Minnesota.

The meeting was opened at 1:05 p.m. by President Ralph Carr. Governor Michael Hvidsten highlighted several items appearing in his Newsletter report: MAA book sales are down; database conversion cost has doubled and membership fees will be increased by 4% to help cover this cost; membership continues to be strong; the topic of how active the MAA should be in influencing public policy turned out to be quite controversial. Action was tabled until the next Governor's meeting.

Earlier in the day President Carr presented the NCS Distinguished Teaching Award to Robert Lacher of South Dakota State University and the NCS Meritorious Service Award to Jerry Heuer of Concordia Collage. The committees that made the selections were: Teaching - Co Livingstion-Chair (Bemidji State University), Steve Kennedy (Carleton College), Dan Schaal (South Dakota State University) and Service - Jennifer Galovitch-Chair (St. John's University), Ralph Carr (St. Cloud State University), Randy Westhoff (Bemidji State University), Ken Yocom (South Dakota State University)

President Carr announced the nominees from the Nominating Committee for Section officers. They were: Matt Richy, Macalester College, for President Elect (three year term 2002-2005 as president elect, president, and past president), Walter Sizer, Moorhead State University, for Secretary (three year term 2002-2005), and Randy Westhoff, Bemidji State University, for Four Year College Member at Large (two year term 2002-2004). Additional nominations from the floor were called for and hearing none there was a motion to elect the above nominees by a unanimous ballot. The motion passed.

Newsletter Editor Dale Buske moved that the Newsletter be only posted on the NCS Web Site ( and a notice be sent to Section members announcing when the Newsletter will be on line. The motion was approved. As part of the discussion concerns were raised about obtaining an e-mail list of NCS members.

Secretary Dan Kemp reported that there were 72 people registered for the Spring meeting. 

Treasurer Tom Sibley passed out his report. We are financially secure. Tom requested that individual Mathematics Departments in the NCS sign on as

Institutional Members of the NCS for a $25 fee. The funds are used to support the Sections operations.

Student Chapter Coordinator Dick Jarvinen encouraged departments to form a Student MAA Chapter. It's really easy to do: simply apply! See the national MAA Web Site ( for details. Dick reminded us that student membership benefits include funding for travel expenses to the summer MathFest in Burlington, VT, August 1-3, 2002, for student speakers.  They would then have the opportunity to win cash prizes. A list of NCS Student Chapters and Student Chapters nationwide with Web Sites was made available.

Future meetings were announced: Fall 2002 at Moorhead State University, October 25-6; Spring 2003 at Macalester College, April 25-6.

The next Summer Seminar will be in early August at Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN. The topic will be Combinatorial Games with Elwyn Berlekamp as the principle presenter. David Wolfe, is the coordinator.

Jerry Heuer reported that the NCS Team Mathematics Competion will be held November 26, 2002.

25 and 50 year certificates of MAA membership were presented to several Section members.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Dan Kemp, Secretary

Last updated on Friday, May 30, 2003 .