The Mathematical Association of America

North Central Section


North Central Section, Mathematical Association of America

Business Meeting, October 15, 2005

South Dakota State University

Brookings, South Dakota


President Dale Buske presided.

Jason Douma (information officer) reported that the web site is a work in progress:  people can contribute to it at any time.  Photographs are invited.

Randy Westhoff (treasurer) urged institutions to become section MAA members.  He distributed reports and indicated that while there was a small loss in the summer seminar fund, the general fund was up.

Wally Sizer (secretary) reported that 53 people had register for the present meeting (correction:  54).  He encouraged people new to the section to give talks at meetings and indicated the section would follow up on encouraging them.

Dan Kemp (governor) said his full report is available on the web site.  He publicized the Henry L. Alder Award for distinguished teaching by new faculty and the David P. Robbins Prize in algebra, combinatorics or discrete mathematics.

Dale reported for Dick Jarvinen, student chapters coordinator who was not present, and urged departments to set up student chapters of the MAA if they do not already have one.

Dale reported that the summer seminar in 2005, on bioinformatics and at the University of Minnesota Duluth, was a good experience for the participants, and announced the next summer seminar in 2007, to be on computational mathematics and held at Carleton College.

The section NExT program prior to our fall meeting had a good turnout, and applications are encouraged from new teachers in the section (see the web site).

The next section meeting will be April 21-22, 2006, at Minnesota State University, Mankato.  Negotiations are under way for a location for the fall, ’06, meeting.  The spring, ’07, meeting will be at St. Catherine’s College.

The local arrangements group headed by Dan Kemp was thanked for their efforts in organizing and running the meeting.


Submitted—Wally Sizer,

Section secretary


Last updated on Friday, October 28, 2005 .