Nominations for Meritorious Service Award

***Deadline: February 15, 2020***

Anyone may make a nomination, but nominations are especially solicited from chairs and MAA liaisons in departments of mathematical sciences. We urge you to submit a nomination for the North Central Section award if you have someone eligible and qualified in your department. Even if the nominee is not selected, it is an honor for the individual to be nominated for this award. The same person can be nominated again another year.

A letter of nomination which speaks to the nominee's contributions to the profession and to the section should be sent (electronically or otherwise) to the chair of the selection committee at a date determined by the Fall Section Meeting. Self-nomination is not allowed and nominees must hold membership in the Mathematical Association of America.

Nominees should:

(2020 Submission Information) Send nominations electronically to John Zobitz (

Avoiding Implicit Bias: Guidelines for MAA Selection Committees (August 2011) (pdf)

The selection committee for the Mertitorious Service Award is comprised of the Section's President-Elect, Member-at-Large in their first term and the two most recent Award winners, other than the President-Elect.

Section Meritorious Service Award

(started 1994)

2019 Shawn Chiappetta University of Sioux Falls
2018 Joel Iiams University of North Dakota
2017 Donna Flint South Dakota State University
2016 Tracy Bibelnieks University of Minnesota-Duluth
2015 Randall Westhoff Bemidji State University
2014 Jason Douma University of Sioux Falls
2013 Su Doree Augsburg College
2012 Deanna Haunsperger and Stephen Kennedy Carleton College
2011 Wally Sizer Minnesota State University Moorhead
2010 Jennifer Galovich St. John's University
2009 Tom Sibley St. John's University
2008 Richard Jarvinen Winona State University
2007 Mike Hvidsten Gustavus Adolphus College
2006 Daniel Kemp South Dakota State University
2004 Gail Nelson Carleton College
2003 Loren Larson St. Olaf College
2002 Gerald Heuer Concordia College
2001 Ivy Knoshaug Bemidji State University
2000 Ralph Carr St. Cloud State University
1999 Gail Earles St. Cloud State University
1998 John Holte Gustavus Adolphus College
1997 Lisl Gaal University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
1996 Wayne Roberts Macalester College
1995 Murray Braden Macalaster College
1994 Gerald Bergum South Dakota State University

Section Nomination for National Meritorious Service Award

(started 1984 and nominations occur every fifth year)

2011 Joseph Gallian University of Minnesota-Duluth
2006 Ivy Knoshaug Bemidji State University
2001 Ralph Carr St. Cloud State University
1996 Sylvan Burgstahler University of Minnesota-Duluth
1993 Gerald Heuer Concordia College
1986 Joe Konhauser Macalester College

Comments or corrections can be sent to the webmaster.