Committee Seeking
Distinguished Teaching Award Nominations

This is a preliminary announcement that the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will be seeking nominations for the ninth annual (2000) MAA Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. The committee will choose one of the nominees for the Michigan Section Award, and he or she will be honored at the Spring 2000 meeting of the Section at CMU. The awardee will also become the Section's candidate for the national MAA's Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award.

This year's committee recently selected Professor Kalpana Godbole (MTU) to receive the 1999 award. Further details about her award will appear in the Fall 1999 Newsletter.

The chair of the 2000 Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will be Richard Hill (MSU). The other members will be Donald Buckeye (EMU) and Kalpana Godbole (MTU).

Anyone, other than the candidate him/herself, is entitled to make a nomination. To be eligible, a candidate must (1) be a college or university teacher teaching a mathematical science at least halftime during the academic year in a 2- or 4-year college or university, (2) have at least five years teaching experience, and (3) be a member of the MAA.

Nominations are due by December 31, 1999. More information will be available in the Fall Newsletter. Please start thinking now about nominating your department's best teacher.

Back to the Spring Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife