Annual Meeting Set for May 7-8

The annual meeting of the Michigan Section-MAA and MichMATYC will be held May 7-8, 1999 at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti. This meeting celebrates 75 years of Section meetings and the 150th anniversary of EMU. We have planned two days of talks, workshops, and special sessions. Please note that the deadline for hotel reservations is relatively early: Monday, April 6. The deadline for meal reservations is Friday, April 23.

Highlights of the meeting include plenary addresses by five nationally prominent mathematicians. At the awards banquet, Arthur Benjamin (Harvey Mudd C) will perform some of the mental arithmetic with which he dazzled last summer's MathFest. Underwood Dudley (DePauw U) will talk about mathematical cranks, a subject on which he "wrote the book." Tom Hales (UM-Ann Arbor) will discuss his recent solution of the venerable Kepler conjecture on sphere packing. Glenda Lappan (MSU), president of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, will deliver the luncheon address on Saturday as part of a focus that day on teaching and education. Finally, Hugh Montgomery (UM-Ann Arbor) will talk about the Riemann Hypothesis, perhaps the major outstanding conjecture of our time.

In addition, we have a wide variety of talks and workshops on topics of interest, including the Michigan Mathematics Prize Competition, a sabbatical in the Czech Republic, innovations in teaching, student retention, technology, and Roger Verhey's Building Bridges session. As always, there will be an exciting variety of student talks.

Details about the schedule (including abstracts), registration, and accommodations are contained in the Program for the Annual Meeting, which is included with this Newsletter. The program is also available on the Section's Web site (

While there is a great deal of flexibility and choice in the program, several of the events require reservations or preregistration. Please check the deadlines in the program.

The program committee consists of Dan Frohardt (WSU) and Barbara Jur (Macomb CC), co-chairs, Gisela Ahlbrandt (EMU), Melissa Desjarlais (student, Alma C), and Ron Mosier (DaimlerChrysler). The local arrangements committee at EMU consists of Don Lick, chair, Gisela Ahlbrandt, Gian Mario Besana, Joanne Caniglia, Irene Duranczyk, and Bette Warren.

We'll see you all in Ypsilanti!

Back to the Spring Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife