Committee Seeking Distinguished Teaching
Award Nominations

This is a preliminary announcement that the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will be seeking nominations for the eighth annual (1999) MAA Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. The committee will choose one of the nominees for the Michigan Section Award, and he or she will be honored at the Spring 1999 meeting of the Section at EMU. The awardee will also become the Section's candidate for the national award. (See related story on the 1998 winner above.)

The chair of the 1999 Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will be Sidney Graham (MTU). Other members will be Richard Hill (MSU) and Donald Buckeye (EMU).

Anyone, other than the candidate him/herself, is entitled to make a nomination. To be eligible, a candidate must (1) be a college or university teacher teaching a mathematical science at least halftime during the academic year in a 2- or 4-year college or university, (2) have at least five years teaching experience, and (3) be a member of the MAA.

Nominations are due by December 31. More information will be available in the Fall Newsletter. Please start thinking now about nominating your department's best teacher.

Back to the Spring Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife