Buckeye and Chaffer to be Honored

Professors Donald A. Buckeye (EMU) and Robert Chaffer (CMU) will be honored at the Section's annual meeting in May as recipients, respectively, of the Section's Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching and its Distinguished Service Award.

Professor Buckeye has had a distinguished 45-year career as a teacher, author, and lecturer. He has received both the Outstanding Continuing Educator of the Year Award and the Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award from his home institution, as well as the Michigan Association of Governing Boards' Distinguished Faculty Award.

Dr. Buckeye will be the official Michigan Section candidate for the MAA's Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. There will be at most three national awardees, each of whom will be honored at the January 1999 MAA Meeting in San Antonio and receive a $1000 check and a certificate.

Dr. Chaffer's award is in recognition of service over a span of many years. He has served the Section as Newsletter Editor and as Secretary/Treasurer, and he has worked extensively with the High School Visiting Lecture Program. A complete citation will appear in the Fall 1998 Newsletter.

Back to the Spring Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife