Annual Meeting Set for April 27-28

The annual meeting of the Michigan Section-MAA and MichMATYC will be held April 27-28, 2001 at Hope College, Holland. Please note that the deadline for some hotel reservations is very early: Monday, March 26. The deadline for meal reservations is Friday, April 20.

Highlights of the meeting include plenary addresses by nationally known mathematicians and educators, including Chris Skinner (UM-Ann Arbor) on Fermat's legacy to mathematics, historically and in current research, Elliot Tanis (Hope C) on using Maple in simulation, and Ed Burger (Williams C) on infinite series. Ed will also be our Friday night banquet speaker, discussing his approach to teaching (high-tech and no-tech). Our luncheon speakers will be Joan Ferrini-Mundy (MSU) on the NCTM Principles and Standards for School Mathematics, and John Berry (U of Plymouth, UK) on modeling and appropriate use of technology.

In addition we have a wide variety of talks on topics of interest, including rating baseball relief pitchers, Lyapunov exponents, prime gaps, fractional differential forms, and teaching proofs. As always, there will be an exciting variety of student talks. The popular Building Bridges session organized by Roger Verhey (UM-Dearborn) and Tim Husband (SHU) continues, focusing on the preparation of high school teachers and its impact on first year college mathematics.

There will be book exhibits from the MAA and other publishers (many of whom are also graciously sponsoring the coffee breaks).

Details about the schedule (including abstracts), registration, and accommodations are contained in the Program for the Annual Meeting, which is included with this Newsletter. The program is also available on the Section's Web site (

The program committee consists of Ruth Favro (LTU) and Jim Ham (Delta C), co-chairs, with John Stoughton (Hope C) and Carolyn Dean (UM-Ann Arbor). The local arrangements committee at Hope consists of Janet Andersen, chair, and John VanIwaarden. They promise excellent hospitality, good food, and a well-run meeting. See you all in Holland!

Ruth Favro, Four-Year College Vice Chair

Back to the Spring Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife