Committee Invites
Distinguished Teaching Award Nominations

This is a preliminary announcement that the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will be seeking nominations for the ninth annual (2001) MAA Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. The committee will choose one of the nominees for the Michigan Section Award, and he or she will be honored at the Spring 2001 meeting of the Section at Hope College. The awardee will also become the Section's candidate for the national MAA's Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award.

This year's committee recently selected Larry M. King (UM-Flint) from a strong field of candidates to receive the 2000 award. Professor King has developed an innovative course for prospective elementary school teachers, developed an affective cooperative learning style that expanded into a FIPSE grant involving six UM-Flint departments, Mott Community College, and teachers from the Flint area schools, and presented the results at national meetings. Students find his classes enjoyable, innovative, and challenging. Further details about his award will appear in the Fall 2000 Newsletter.

Committee chair Richard Hill (MSU) reports that it was a pleasure to read through the files and make this difficult choice. He sincerely hopes that chairpersons begin to contemplate now whom they might nominate for next year.

Dr. King joins the continuing members of the committee, Donald Buckeye (EMU), chair, and Kalpana Godbole (MTU), the previous two recipients, for next year's selection process.

Anyone, other than the candidate him/herself, is entitled to make a nomination. To be eligible, a candidate must be a college or university teacher teaching a mathematical science at least halftime during the academic year in a 2- or 4-year college or university, have at least five years teaching experience, and be a member of the MAA.

Nominations are due by December 31, 2000. More information will be available in the Fall Newsletter. Please start thinking now about nominating your department's best teacher.

On a related note, Past Chair Bette Warren (EMU) reports that Renate McLaughlin (Provost at UM-Flint) was selected to receive the Section's 1999-2000 Distinguished Service Award. Professor McLaughlin has served the Section as Vice Chair, Chair, MCTM Liaison, and MMPC Exam Committee Chair over the past decade. Details will appear in the Fall Newsletter.

Back to the Spring Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife