Nominations Sought

Nominations for the eighth (1999) Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics from the Michigan Section of the Mathematical Association of America are now being accepted. The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will choose one of the nominees for the Section Award.

The awardee will be honored at the Spring meeting of the Section and will be widely recognized and acknowledged within the Section. The awardee will also be the official Section candidate for the national MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. Each of the three national awardees, will be honored at the national MAA meeting in January 2000 and receive a $1000 check and certificate. The section awards for the past seven years have gone to Elliot Tanis (Hope C), Doug Nance (CMU), Jerry Grossman (OU), Sid Graham (MTU), Art White (WMU), Richard Hill (MSU), and Don Buckeye (EMU).

Anyone (other than the candidate him/herself) is entitled to make a nomination. Any college or university teacher assigned at least halftime during the academic year to teaching a mathematical science in a public or private college or university (from two-year college teaching through teaching at the PhD level) is eligible, provided he or she has at least five years teaching experience in a mathematical science and is a member of the MAA.

The nominees should be widely recognized as extraordinarily successful in their teaching (interpreted in its broadest sense), have documented teaching effectiveness, have had influence in teaching beyond their own institutions, and foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students. Further information and forms are available on the Web (

Please send your nominations to Sid Graham, Department of Mathematics, Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859;, phone 517-774-3596, fax 517-774-2414. Deadline for completed applications is January 1, 1999.

Nominations are also now being solicited for the Michigan Section's Distinguished Service Award. Please submit your nominations by January 18 to Matt Wyneken (UM-Flint)

In addition, as Past Chair, Matt also serves on the Nominating Committee for Section officers and would appreciate volunteers and suggestions for future Section leaders.

Back to the Fall Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife