Annual Meeting in May

Daniel Frohardt The next joint Annual Meeting of the Michigan Section-MAA and Mich-MATYC will be held on May 7-8, 1999 at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti. We are planning an exciting program with a variety of talks and workshops in mathematics, teaching mathematics, applications of mathematics, and other issues of professional interest. Speakers include Glenda Lappan, president of National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, Underwood Dudley, author of books on numerology and cranks, and Hugh Montgomery (UM-Ann Arbor). More details will appear in the Spring Newsletter, which you will receive by the beginning of April.

In addition to our invited speakers, we will have sessions for contributed papers and a special session for papers by undergraduates. Instructions for submitting abstracts for one of these sessions are contained in the Call for Papers, which was included with the request for dues mailed earlier this Fall, and which is repeated on this page of this Newsletter. Speaking at a contributed paper session is an excellent way to share your work and become acquainted with your colleagues in Michigan.

The meeting is scheduled to run all day Friday and Saturday morning. There will be luncheons both days and a banquet Friday evening. As is our custom, we will be presenting both a teaching award and a service award at the Friday banquet.

The program committee consists of co-chairs Dan Frohardt (WSU) and Barbara Jur (Macomb CC) along with Gisela Ahlbrandt (EMU), Melissa Desjarlais (Alma C student), and Ron Mosier (Chrysler Corporation). Please notify one of us if you would like to give a presentation or if you have a suggestion for the program. Don Lick (EMU) is chairing the local arrangements committee. Contact information for all of us is given on page 38.

Dan Frohardt, Four-year College Vice Chair

Back to the Fall Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife