Chairperson's Report

Bette Warren The Michigan Section will celebrate its 75th anniversary annual meeting in Ypsilanti next May. Throughout its history the Section has played an important role in support of collegiate mathematics, mathematicians, and students in Michigan. In each period of its history, the Section has been guided and sustained by dedicated volunteers. I would like to recognize a few of the people who play key roles today.

John Petro (WMU) has just completed his three-year term as Governor and is succeeded by John Kiltinen (NMU). Both of these men have served the Section tirelessly in many capacities over the years. John Petro will continue active involvement this year updating and enhancing the Michigan Section History. Dan Frohardt (WSU) and Barbara Jur (Macomb CC) join the Executive Committee as Vice Chairs and co-chairs of the Program Committee. Ruth Favro (LTU) continues to serve very ably as Secretary/Treasurer, and Matthew Wyneken (UM-Flint) provides continuity and experience on the Executive Committee as Past Chair. Jerry Grossman (OU) continues to serve as the Editor of our Newsletter, and Webmaster Earl Fife (Calvin C) maintains our Web page. Toni Carroll (Sienna Heights C) joins us as Public Information Officer.

Directors of two important programs deserve special thanks: Gerald Ludden (MSU), Director of the Michigan Mathematics Prize Competition (MMPC) and Matthew Wyneken (UM-Flint), Director of the High School Visiting Lecturer Program. This year the Section is exploring two other outreach programs. Margret Höft (UM-Dearborn) will investigate section-based support programs for newer faculty members modeled on the national Project NExT, and Bruce Clarke (WMU, retired) will compile a data base of mathematically oriented extra-curricular programs for middle and high school students. We hope that these explorations will suggest ways that we can improve support for the future of mathematics in Michigan.

Many other mathematicians make significant contributions to the Section and their colleagues through work on committees, as volunteer lecturers, or by speaking at our meetings. If you would like to be involved, we would love to have you. If you have any ideas or suggestions for the Section, please contact me.

Bette Warren, Chair

Back to the Fall Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife