Nominations Sought for Awards and Offices

Nominations for the tenth (2001) Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics from the Michigan Section of the Mathematical Association of America are now being accepted. The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee will choose one of the nominees for the Section Award.

The awardee will be honored at the Spring meeting of the Section and will be widely recognized and acknowledged within the Section. The awardee will also be the official Section candidate for the national MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. Each of the three national awardees will be honored at the national MAA meeting in January 2002 and receive a $1000 check and certificate. The Section awardees for the past three years, Don Buckeye (EMU), Kalpana Godbole (MTU), and Larry King (UM-Flint), form the selection committee (see Committees and Appointments).

Anyone (other than the candidate him/herself) is entitled to make a nomination. Any college or university teacher assigned at least halftime during the academic year to teaching a mathematical science in a public or private college or university (from two-year college teaching through teaching at the PhD level) is eligible, provided he or she has at least five years teaching experience in a mathematical science and is a member of the MAA.

The nominees should be widely recognized as extraordinarily successful in their teaching (interpreted in its broadest sense), have documented teaching effectiveness, have had influence in teaching beyond their own institutions, and foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students.

Please send your nominations to Don Buckeye, Department of Mathematics, Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, MI 48197 (, 734-483-2943), who can provide forms and details. Deadline for completed dossiers is January 1. Further information and copies of the nomination forms can be found on the Section's Web site at

Nominations are also now being solicited for the Michigan Section's Distinguished Service Award. Please submit your nominations by January 19 to Daniel Frohardt (WSU); see contact information on Committees and Appointments.

In addition, as Past Chair, Dan also serves on the Nominating Committee for Section officers and would appreciate suggestions (by January 5) for future Section leaders (this includes self-volunteering). We need to elect a Chair and two Vice Chairs (two-year school and four-year school) to one-year terms.

Back to the Fall Newsletter

This page is maintained by Earl D. Fife