MAA MD-VA-DC Executive Committee Meeting Virginia State University Virginia State University, VA¹ April 21, 2023

IN ATTENDANCE: Kathryn Linehan (Chair), Dina Yagodich (Vice Program Chair), Tom Wears (Secretary), Phillip Poplin (Treasurer), Jeb Collins (Newsletter Editor), Amy Vennos (Director of Member Communications), Jilly Tysse (New Faculty Coordinator), Jeff Ledford (Student Activities Coordinator), Kristen Boyle (At Large Member), Blain Patterson (At Large Member), Brian Heinhold (Webmaster)

Presiding Officer: Dr. Kathryn Linehan, Section Chair

Meeting called to order at 2:05 $\ensuremath{\mathsf{PM}}$ followed by a round of brief introductions and exchange of pleasantries.

I. Approval of Minutes of November 4, 2022

Minutes approved at 2:08PM.

II. Report of the Treasurer: Phillip Poplin

Treasurer Phillip Poplin reported that, "by and large, funds okay" and that the section is on stable footing on the financial front. Treasurer Poplin indicated that all financial statements and records were current as March 30, 2023. Relating to expenditures required for section meetings, Treasurer Poplin indicated that food costs (catering and lunches) continue to be notably higher than years prior and that the section is effectively subsidizing increased lunch costs out of the general fund.

In response to increased operating costs at meetings, Section Chair Kathryn Linehan suggested that it might be time to increase registration fees for section meetings from \$25 to \$30, noting that registration fees have been held at \$25 for "quite some time." A brief discussion related to registration fees ensued.

III. Report of the Representative to the MAA Congress: Maggie Rahmoeller

Representative to the MAA Congress Maggie Rahmoeller was teaching class and the report of the Representative to the MAA Congress was initially skipped. Upon returning to the indicated report, Representative Rahmoeller spent some time highlighting the core values of the MAA and resources available to both the section and its members. Representative Rahmoeller anticipated that there would be more updates from National after MathFest and the meeting of the MAA Congress.

IV. Report of the New Faculty Coordinator: Jill Tysee

¹The meeting of the executive committee was held via Zoom one week in advance of the sectional meeting.

There was no report from New Faculty Coordinator Jill Tysee.

V. Report of the Program Chair: Dina Yagodich

Program Chair Dina Yagodich announced that "Section NExTers" would be helping with the student program at the upcoming meeting and that the section will again be making use of the MAA Speaker Series for the Fall 20223 and Spring 2024 section meetings. Program Chair Yagodich reiterated how great the MAA Speaker Series is (emphasizing that MAA National covers much of the costs) and encouraged the section to continue to make use of the program going forward. Program Chair Yagodich also announced that we would be bringing in a NREUP (National Research Experience for Undergraduates Program) from Howard University. Section Chair Linehan provided additional details, noting how the NREUP was an MAA initiative intended to provide REU opportunities for historically underrepresented groups. Chair Linehan then gave a brief overview of how the program worked. Additional details can be found at the following website:

https://maa.org/programs-and-communities/outreach-initiatives/nreup

VI. Report of the Section Chair: Kathryn Linehan

Section Chair Kathryn Linehan began her report by announcing that the book sale is back and that spring election for officers is upcoming. Related to the election, Chair Linehan indicated that the ballot would be sent out via email from the MAA and that Chair Linehan would put it (the ballot) on MAA Connect. Positions on the ballot were to include:

- Vice Program Chair (Blain Patterson, running unopposed)
- At Large Member (Ray Chung from Old Dominion University, running unopposed)
- Newsletter Editor (Molly Lynch)
- Treasurer (Phillip Poplin, running unopposed).

Chair Linehan then took the opportunity to thank outgoing executive committee members for their service and expressed gratitude to Treasurer Phillip Poplin for agreeing to serve a second term as treasurer.

Chair Linehan then announced that she has been communicating with National about a section Gmail account and the ability to establish a shared Google Drive account for executive committee members.² National indicated Chair Linehan that they (National) are working on a solution for this for all sections and that a solution will be forthcoming. A brief discussion pertaining to previous email accounts, shared file/document repositories, and MAA Connects Libraries followed.

Lastly, Chair Linehan announced the respective locations for the upcoming Fall 2023 Section Meeting (Stevenson University) and the Spring 2024 Section Meeting (James Madison University). Chair

²The interest in the account actually has nothing to do with email, but rather a shared repository for files and documents.

Linehan noted that it "is a big win" to get a meeting in the neighborhood of Baltimore but that the host department was going to have to pay a rental charge for the rooms for the conference. It was noted that this is likely to be an ongoing issue going forward.

David Taylor then commented that it is now time to start looking for hosts for the Fall of 2024 and the Spring of 2025, where upon it was noted that it might be worth reaching out to Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU).

VII. REPORT OF THE AWARDS COMMITTEE, REPRESENTED BY TOM WEARS

Secretary Tom Wears indicated that Jennifer Bergner of Salisbury University would be announced as the recipient of the section's teaching award.

VIII. POTENTIAL REPORTS FROM OTHER EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

a. Chair Elect: David Taylor

No report from Chair Elect Taylor, but it was noted that Chair Elect Taylor has not missed a meeting since 2007 and that he is excited to serve a second term as chair. A brief discussion of whether there has previously been a two-time Chair followed.

b. Webmaster: Brian Heinold

Webmaster Brian Heinhold indicated that there were no updates, but Chair Elect David Taylor noted that there needed to be a brief discussion related to Jeopardy for the student activities.

c. Secretary: Tom Wears

Secretary Tom Wears indicated that there were no updates.

d. Newsletter Editor: Jeb Collins

Newsletter Editor Jeb Collins did not have an official report, but the executive committee was informed that Jeb will be leaving the section at the end of the semester to take a job with a government contractor. Thanks were expressed by all to Jeb for his service to the section and a round of congratulations and best wishes followed.

e. Director of Member Communications: Amy Vennos

Director of Member Communications Amy Vennos did not have an updated.

f. Student Activities Coordinator: Jeff Ledford

Student Activities Coordinator Ledford indicated that he did not have a formal report, but gave updates on the number of individuals signed up for radical dash and Jeopardy. Student Activities Coordinator Ledford noted that he had five teams signed up for Jeopardy with two additional teams waiting in the wings. Dave Taylor gave his strongest possible recommendation not to go over 24 individuals participating in Jeopardy.

g. Members at Large: Kristen Boyle and Blain Patterson

Members at Large Kristen Boyle and Blain Patterson did not submit a report.

IX. OPEN DISCUSSION:

Dina Yagodich noted that an "all Zoom" meeting of the executive committee is "better and easier" than a meeting where half the participants are on Zoom and the other half are in-person. Seemingly everyone was in agreement.

X. Meeting adjourned at 2:48PM.