MD-DC-VA Section of MAA General Membership Meeting Minutes Frostburg State University, MD April 28, 2017

John Hamman called the meeting to order. The minutes from the Fall 2016 executive officers meeting were approved.

Section Representative's Report John Hamman noted that the section position that we formerly called "Governor" is now the newly named "Section Representative," in accordance with the Association's new bylaws on governance.

Section Representative, Jennifer Bergner is unable to attend this meeting and is also unable to attend Mathfest in Chicago. David Carothers has kindly agreed to act as respresentive for our section at Mathfest in Jennifer's place.

Betty Mayfield presented a report on Jennifer Bergner's behalf. "MAA 101 Refresh" is the new initiative to heighten MAA's exposure in the public discourse and imagination. The title comes from the 101st year of the MAA.

The national bylaws on governance (see previous minutes) were discussed at length and by many at the Joint Meetings in Atlanta. The motion to change the bylaws on governance passed.

One practical issue that has arisen from the bylaws is the name "Section Representative," a name that may be difficult for many administrators to comprehend. "Senator" is one candidate for a different name, as is the old title "Governor."

Betty closes with some further remarks: The program for Mathfest in Chicago looks strong and diverse. New careers page on MAA should be very helpful for student and faculty advisors alike. As always, buy books at this meeting – some of the proceeds of which are passed on to the section coffers!! Departmental members, whose students are automtically members of the MAA, are encouraged to continue promoting the MAA with said students. High school competitions are going well, and include a first place showing by the women's team in Europe.

On Section's bylaws John Hamman echoed Betty's comments about the books. John called on the membership for new initiatives to support and engage with early career faculty and current graduate students.

John asked the general membership to join the executive officers in revising the section's bylaws. He reported that the officers, in their executive meeting on April 28, want to conduct a root-and-branch analysis of the sections bylaws and a revisiting of the defined roles and responsibilties of the section officers. John seeks input from the general membership on the bylaws, especially from those who have previously served as officers. The officers hope to meet during Summer 2017, before Mathfest, to discuss the bylaws so the membership is asked to submit comments sometime in the next six weeks or so. One member asked if changes to the section's bylaws need to be approved by national body? John answers "Yes" but is unsure on the exact details.

Paucity of nominations for the Teaching Award Unfortunately, no nominations were received for the teaching award this year so no award will be made.

Member Communications Another member asked about the newsletter email listing, that some members received the announcement but others did not. Related to member communications, one member asked about the roles of departmental liaisons and if there is an officer who is responsible for communicating directly with liaisons. John said that this would be added to the list of topics that the officers will discuss over the summer.

Treasurer's Report The report from the Fall meeting appeared to have lower funds than usual, but

due only to the National MAA subvention check being late. Accounts are same level as one year ago, even with the \approx \$1,000 "Math Jeopardy" buzzer expenditure. Good news!

Pre-registration for this meeting are a little lower than last Spring's Meeting. This might be owing to the confluence of the beautiful but slightly challenging location and, more pertinently, the timing of the meeting being very close to many institutions' finals week. Of special note from the treasurer: there are more students than faculty registered for this meeting.

Election of New Officers John thanked the ad-hoc nominating committee for soliciting the general membership to run for executive offices. The Four positions open on the executive are: Program Chair Elect, Treasurer, Newsletter Editor, and At-Large Member. Jason Rosenhouse was nominated for Program Chair Elect, Mitch Keller for Treasurer, Maggie Rahmoeller for Newsletter Editor, and Phillip Poplin for At-Large. All nominations were unopposed and, in turn, elected by acclamation.

Section NExT Dina Yagodich thanks this year's Section NExT graduating cohort and reminded all faculty to encourage their new and incoming colleagues to join Section NExT. Dina presented gifts for those fellows who have completed their time with Section NExT. Dina is concerned that not all previous Section NExT Fellows received a parting gift and is trying to rectify this oversight.

Special Recognition John Hamman acknowledged and thanks those officers who have completed their executive terms: Karin Saoub, Brian Lins, and Phillip Poplin.

Betty Mayfield delivered a eulogy in memoriam of Caren Diefenderfer, emphasizing Caren's sectional and national service to the profession but also her warm collegiality and faithful friendship to the section and its members.

John Hamman proposed that the membership purchase a brick at MAA Carriage House. The inscription on the brick would be a dedication to Caren Diefenderfer. The cost of the brick would \$303, and with surplus monies transferred to our section's Student Achievement Fund. The motion was unanimously approved.

Ann Stewart congratulated, with remarks, Betty Mayfield on her retirement from teaching. Roland Minton congratulated, with remarks, Bud Brown on his retirement from teaching.

Bud Brown moved that letters of thanks be sent to appropriate officials at Frostburg; the motion was seconded and unanimously approved.

New Business Dan Kalman proposed that we send a card and some flowers to Jennifer Bergner. The membership concurred. The Secretary was asked to do this but John Hamman requested that he would arrange this instead.

Locations for the next meetings were announced: Christopher Newport University in Newport News, VA, will host the Fall 2017 Meeting, on November 17-18, 2017. The Spring 2018 Meeting will be hosted jointly by Virginia Military Institute and Washington and Lee University in Lexington, VA.

Thanks from the membership are given to John Hamman for his service as Chair, and to Minah Oh for her service as Program Chair.

The meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by: Edwin O'Shea, Secretary, MD-DC-VA Section