MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Membership Meeting Minutes Roanoke College, Salem, VA April 25, 2015

David Shoenthal called the meeting to order.

The minutes of the November 8, 2014 membership meeting were approved after correcting the spelling of Amy Shell-Gellasch's name.

Brian Lins gave the treasurer's report. The general fund balance is \$5151.23, the John Milcetich Fund balance is \$1165.66, the Project NExT balance is \$265.00, and the Section NExT balance is \$3267.86. He said that he transferred \$2000.00 from Section NExT to Project NExT in order to make the Section's annual \$2500.00 contribution to fund a Project NExT fellow for one year.

Brian announced that there were 95 students and 76 non-students preregistered for the meeting, noting that the students outnumbered the non-students.

David gave the chair's report. He asked for volunteers to help organize the fall 2015 meeting, for volunteers to serve on the Sr. Helen Christensen Service Award commmittee, and that members submit nominations for that award.

Caren Diefenderfer gave the governor's report. She encouraged members to attend Math-Fest 2015 in Washington, DC. As our section turns 100 years old next year, she asked that departments submit recollections of past meetings to commemorate our section's centennial.

She announced that the Committee on the Undergraduate Program in Mathematics (CUPM) is publishing an updated curriculum guide. She noted that the last guide was published in 2004.

She reported that the MAA is concerned with its finances, and in particular, the declining number of memberships. As a result, the new departmental membership structure will enable departments to nominate an unlimited number of student members, with the hope that they students will continue to join the MAA and pay their membership fees after graduation. Details on the new departmental membership fees and structure appear at http://www.maa.org/membership/membership-categories/departmental-membership-benefits

David announced that the fall 2015 meeting will be held at Saint Mary's College of Maryland, November 6-7. The location of the spring 2016 meeting has not been determined.

John Hamman gave the Section NExT report, naming our section's new Section NExT members.

Betty Mayfield presented the John Smith Teaching Award to Caren Diefenderfer. Caren

gave a brief response.

For the election of officers, the nominating committee nominated Heather Moon for program chair-elect, Edwin O'Shea for secretary, Karen Saoub for newsletter editor, Amy Shell-Gellasch for director of membership communication, Gwyneth Whieldon for student activities coordinator, and Phillip Poplin as the at-large member. The nominees were elected by acclamation. The outgoing officers were presented with books in appreciation for their service.

Bud Brown moved that the secretary write a letter of appreciation to Roanoke College for hosting a successful meeting. The motion was seconded and passed.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Robb T. Koether