MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Membership Meeting Minutes James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA April 26, 2014

David Shoenthal called the meeting to order.

- 1. The minutes of the November 2, 2013 membership meeting were approved as distributed.
- 2. Brian Lins presented the treasurer's report. The total balance of all accounts it \$9,005.72. Brian said that last fall the section did not contribute one half of the registration fees to Section NExT as it usually does, but, instead, it used that money to fund the reception at the Joint Mathematics Meeting in Baltimore in January. Brian announced the preregistration figures of 127 non-students and 108 students.
- 3. Jill Dunham reported that there were 9 Section NExT members attending the meeting.
- 4. Caren Diefenderfer gave the governor's report by pointing out that a summary of the governors' meeting was published in the Section's newsletter.
- 5. David Shoenthal made the following announcements:
 - (a) The MAA is conducting a T-shirt contest for the MAA's centennial celebration at Mathfest in 2015.
 - (b) Members are encouraged to submit nominations for the Sr. Helen Christensen Service Award. The Section's website has a link with information about the award.
 - (c) The future meetings of the Section will be at Bowie State University in the fall of 2014, the University of Mary Washington in the spring of 2015, and St. Mary's College of Maryland in the fall of 2015.
- 6. Nominees selected by the Nominations Committee were announced: John Hamman for chair-elect, Brian Lins for treasurer, Jill Dunham for new-faculty coordinator, and William Ethan Duckworth for member at large. As there were no other nominees, these nominees were elected by acclamation.
- 7. David Shoenthal recognized the following outgoing officers for their service: Meagan Herald, member at large; David Taylor, program chair; and Dan Joseph, chair of the nominating committee.
- 8. The following motion was made by Dan Kalman: "That the Sr. Helen Christensen Service Award Committee be instructed to designate Sr. Helen Christensen as the first awardee, and to retain any other nominations already received for consideration in 2015." After a discussion of the motion, the motion failed.

- 9. A motion was made and seconded to direct the secretary to write a letter of appreciation to James Madison University for hosting the meeting. The motion passed.
- 10. The meeting was adjourned.