MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Salisbury University April 12, 2013

Attending: Dan Joseph, Dan Kalman, Brian Lins, David Taylor, Leigh Lunsford, Robb Koether, David Shoenthal, Meagan Herald, Don Spickler, and Jennifer Bergner.

Dan Joseph called the meeting to order.

- 1. The minutes of the October 26, 2012 Executive Committee meeting were approved as distributed.
- 2. Brian Lins presented the treasurer's report. He noted that our bank balance has been flat since last October. He also noted that there has been a slight downward trend in faculty attendance at the meetings.
- 3. Dan Joseph presented the Chair's report:
 - (a) There is an ongoing discussion about AMC-5.
 - (b) He will continue to encourage attendance at the Section's meetings. He emphasized the benefit of building personal relationships with other faculty in the Section.
 - (c) The Section now has a design for its flag. "The Flag Lady," who produced our previous and now lost flag, had the former design on file. The cost will be \$329.70.
 - (d) Members John Hamman, Laura Taalman, and Eve Torrence were recognized for awards that they received recently. Dan Kalman pointed out that Bill Hawkins and Genevieve Knight have also received awards recently.
 - (e) There was no interest in changing the fee structure for the meetings.
 - (f) Leigh Lunsford reported on the proposal for the creation of a Section Service Award. The proposal was distributed. There was a discussion about the composition of the selection committee, whether it should be a newly created committee or incorporated into the current teaching award committee.
- 4. Dan Kalman said that he had nothing to add to the governor's report beyond what had already appeared in the Section's newsletter.
- 5. Dan Joseph thanked outgoing officers Don Spickler, Dawit Haile, Leigh Lunsford, and Dan Kalman for their service.
- 6. A motion was made by Don Spickler and seconded by Jennifer Bergner to appoint Jathan Austin to finish Jennifer's term as student activities coordinator. The motion passed.
- 7. Dan Joseph announced that Caren Diefenderfer has been elected section governor.

- 8. Dan Joseph presented the list of nominees for the upcoming officers' election: Brian Heinold for webmaster, Kathryn Linehan for program chair-elect, Gwyneth Whieldon for newsletter editor, and Minah Oh for at-large member.
- 9. The fall 2013 meeting will be held jointly at Hampden-Sydney College and Longwood University, November 1-2.
- 10. Jennifer Bergner raised the question about student prizes of whether to continue to give book prizes. There was discussion of book prizes, cash prizes, and the total cost.
- 11. The meeting was adjourned.