MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Membership Meeting Minutes Stevenson University, Stevenson, MD April 14, 2012

Dan Joseph called the meeting to order.

1.) The minutes of the November 5, 2011 membership meeting were approved as distributed.

2.) Brian Lins presented the treasurer's report. Brian explained that since he had already paid Project NExT, the balance appeared lower than it did in prior reports. He also displayed a graphic showing the general account balance over the last ten years. He also reported that there were 21 Section NExT fellows and 57 students who pre-registered for the meeting.

3.) Ann Stewart reported that Section NExT fellows were helping with the undergraduate student activities at the meeting. She thanked Randy Cone, Ariana Dundon, and Spencer Hamblin for the excellent support that they have provided.

4.) Dan Kalman noted that he had nothing to add to the Governor's report that was published on the web.

5.) Dan Joseph thanked Don Spickler for his work on the website and for creating a blog for our section history project. Dan also mentioned that with the MAA's centennial coming up he'd appreciate input on a section flag that was needed for the celebration. Members were encouraged to contact Randy Cone with their thoughts on the math preparation of students for college. Dan also asked members to encourage participation in section activities by schools and faculty in the section.

6.) Dan announced that the fall meeting would be at VMI on October 26-27, 2012 and that the spring meeting would be at Salisbury University on April 12-13, 2013. A request for future meeting sites was made along with a request for site coordinators.

7.) Dan Joseph presented tokens of appreciation to Dipa Sarkar-Dey, Dan Symancyk, Ann Stewart, and Cindia Stewart who were completing their terms of office on the executive committee.

8.) The Nominating Committee, chaired by Dipa Sarkar-Dey, presented the following slate: David Shoenthal, Longwood University, Chair (2 yr. term) Robb Koether, Hampden-Sydney College, Secretary (3 yr. term) Jennifer Bergner, Salisbury University, Student Activities Coordinator (3 yr. term) Jill Dunham, Hood College, New Faculty Coordinator (2 yr. Term) Bryan Faulkner, Ferrum College, Director of Member Communications (2 yr. term) Megan Herald, Virginia Military Institute, At Large Committee Member (2 yr. term) The new officers were elected by acclamation.

9.) Following introductory remarks by Robert Lewand, the John M. Smith Teaching Award was

presented to Mark McKibben of Goucher College.

10.) A motion from Bud Brown to direct the secretary to write a letter of appreciation to our hosts at Stevenson University was approved..

11.) Dan Joseph thanked Chris Barat, our liaison with Stevenson University, and John Hamman for their efforts with the meeting.

12.)The meeting was adjourned.