MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Stevenson University, Stevenson, MD April 13, 2012

Attending: Dan Joseph, Dipa Sarkar-Dey, Dan Kalman, Brian Lins, Dan Symancyk, John Hamman, David Taylor, Jennifer Bergner, Ann Stewart, Leigh Lunsford, and Don Spickler.

Dan Joseph called the meeting to order.

- 1.) The minutes of the November 4, 2011 Executive Committee meeting were approved as distributed.
- 2.) Brian Lins presented the treasurer's report. He indicated that Project NExT had been paid but that the MAA subvention and section member donations to our Project NExT fund were less than the cost of a Project NExT fellow. Following some discussion of the section's overall financial balance over time, Dan Joseph asked if a graphical representation of the section's overall financial balance could be prepared.
- 3.) Ann Stewart reported that Section NExT fellows would be helping with the student activities planned for this meeting. There was some discussion about how to improve the participation level of fellows.
- a.) Dan Joseph reported that Randy Cone will give a report from the section committee on the state of mathematics education at the next executive committee meeting.b.) Dan also reported that he sent letters to local colleges letting them know about the
 - meeting at Stevenson. It was decided to ask the site coordinators for future meetings to provide a list of local schools. Members of the executive committee were asked to encourage institutions with new hires to promote their involvement with Section NExT.
 - c.) It was decided to continue our practice of honoring 25 and 50 year members at the fall meeting with one change. The recognition for those honorees present will occur just before the morning invited address rather than during the business meeting.
 - d.) The waiver of charges for newsletter adds was left to the judgment of the newsletter editor.
 - e.) There is no charge to students to attend the workshop at section meetings.
 - f.) It was decided that time sensitive information would be sent to members by email.
 - g.) The Washington Academy of Sciences had contacted us about participating in one of their meetings. Dan Joseph will pursue additional information.
- 5.) Dan Kalman distributed "Avoiding Implicit Bias: Guidelines for MAA Selection Committees" and a document on the Haimo award.
- 6.) Dan Joseph thanked the members of the Executive Committee whose terms were expiring: Dipa Sarkar-Dey, John Hamman, Dan Symancyk, Ann Stewart, and Cindia Stewart.
- 7.) Dan Joseph announced that the Nominating Committee's slate was

- a.) David Shoenthal, Longwood University, Chair (2 yr. term)
- b.) Robb Koether, Hampden-Sydney College, Secretary (3 yr. term)
- c.) Jennifer Bergner, Salisbury University, Student Activities Coordinator (3 yr. term)
- d.) Jill Dunham, Hood College, New Faculty Coordinator (2 yr. Term)
- e.) Bryan Faulkner, Ferrum College, Director of Member Communications (2 yr. term)
- f.) Megan Herald, Virginia Military Institute, At Large Committee Member (2 yr. term)
- 8.) VMI will host the section meeting on October 26-27, 2012 and Salisbury will be the site for the meeting in spring of 2013. There was discussion on the possibility of a joint meeting in the spring of 2014 with the Washington Academy of Sciences and of using the Chesapeake Hyatt as the location for a future meeting.
- 9.) The meeting was adjourned.