MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Membership Meeting Minutes Randolph-Macon College, Ashland, VA April 16, 2011

Dipa Sarkar-Dey called the meeting to order.

- 1.) The minutes of the November 6th membership meeting were approved with the spelling of Jon Scott's name corrected.
- 2.) Jan Minton presented the treasurer's report. She mentioned that 83 students had preregistered. The breakdown by class was 12 freshmen, 18 sophomores, 13 juniors, 39 seniors, and 1 graduate student. There was some discussion about the Project NExT fund which while it gets some donations from members depends on transfers from the section's general account.
- 3.) Dan Kalman reported on the last Board of Governors meeting and referred the membership to the Governor's report in the latest newsletter for more details. He did reiterate concerns expressed at the national level that the winners of teaching awards do not reflect the demographics of the sections. Since the process depends on nominations, he asked members to encourage nominations and to examine whether or not there is an accidental bias in the process.
- 4.) Ann Stewart reported that 20 of 23 Section NExT fellows were at the meeting. There was a session given by Bud Brown on how to give a talk that was also open to the general membership. Section NExT participants also helped with the Amazing Race competition and the judging of the student presentations.
- 5.) Dipa Sarkar-Dey reviewed how the new offices created by the recently approved by laws would be phased in. For this year we will again designate one of the at-large positions to coordinate Section NExT. Starting next year which is even we will start electing a person to the New Faculty Coordinator position.

Dipa reported that the Nominating Committee (Alex Meadows, Caren Diefenderfer, and Denny Gulick) offered the following slate:

Treasurer, Brian Lins (Hampden-Sydney College)

Newsletter Editor, Dawit Haile (Virginia State University)

At-Large Executive Committee (Section NExT), Ann Stewart (Hood College)

At-Large Executive Committee, Leigh Lunsford (Longwood University)

Vice Program Chair, David Taylor (Roanoke College)

The officers were elected by acclamation.

- 6.) Bruce Torrence who chaired the teaching award committee gave an overview of the accomplishments of this year's winner. Bruce, Dipa, and Dan Kalman then presented the John Smith Teaching Award to Robert Sachs of George Mason University.
- 7.)Dipa reported that there will be a session on section history at the JMM in January as MAA

prepares for its centennial celebration in 2015. Jon Scott, Betty Mayfield Caren Diefenderfer, and Bud Brown are working on the history of our section which turns 100 in 2017. Jon mentioned that the group is considering what the section may have in its files that should be sent to the Math Archives at the University of Texas. He asked us to send him vignettes or memories of past section meetings or events. Since our section may have been among the first to offer workshops, he is interested in contacting Ben Fusaro.

Jon Scott gave an update on changes related to book sales at section meetings. There will be a discount and free shipping on orders placed at meetings. He outlined a plan to deplete the current inventory of books that the section has. You can take a book from the current inventory if you order another book at the meeting or make a donation to the section.

- 8.) Dipa Sarkar-Dey presented tokens of appreciation to officers completing their terms and to long-serving members of the teaching award committee, Homer Austin and Paul Bourdon.
- 9.) A motion was approved to direct the secretary to write a letter of appreciation to our hosts at Randolph-Macon.

10.) Announcements

- Chris Barat announced that the tentative dates for the spring meeting at Stevenson are April 13 and 14.
- Dan Kalman reminded everyone to vote in the MAA elections.
- Dipa Sarkar-Dey thanked Bruce Torrence and his students for their help with the meeting and introduced Dan Joseph as the next chair.
- Future Meetings

Christopher Newport University, November 4-5, 2011 Stevenson University, April 13-14 (tentative), 2012 VMI, Fall 2012

11.) The meeting was adjourned.