Minutes of the Business Meeting

Maryland-District of Columbia-Virginia Section

Mathematical Association of America

Bowie State University

Saturday April 29, 2000

The meeting was called to order by Chair Carol Crawford.

Minutes and Treasurer's Report: The minutes of the fall 1999 meeting were approved. The Treasurer Bonita Saunders reported a meeting attendance of 126, including 25 students. Registration fees collected amounted to \$3370.

Student Papers: At this meeting 13 students were involved in presentations.

A special thanks was given to Kathleen Shannon and Andrew Vogt for organizing the student papers competition. The John Milcetich fund is used to award prizes to undergraduate student speakers at the spring meeting. The winners this spring were:

First Prize – Keith McCarron and Becci Torrey, American University – "Continuous Motion of Displaced Coordinate Frames"

Second prize - Thaddeus Selden and Neil Bridge, Randolph-Macon College - "Interfering with Interference"

Third prize - Nirit Sandman, George Washington University - "An Exploration of a Type-B Tamari Poset"

Mathematical Competition in Modeling: There were 495 teams in the 2000 competition, 14 from our Section. A meritorious ranking was received by a team from the University of Richmond for their solution of Problem B. To our knowledge the section has its first team with an outstanding rank – a team from the Governor's School in Richmond for their solution of Problem A – Air Traffic Control. This team earned one of only four outstanding ratings on this problem.

Future Meetings: The dates of future meetings were given. The Section meetings are: (a) Fall of 2000 to be held November 11-12 at American University, in Washington, DC, (b) Spring of 2001 to be held at Virginia Military Institute (VMI) in Lexington, Virginia April 20 - 21, 2001, and (c) Fall of 2001 at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Virginia (date to be determined). There is a good chance that the date for the Fall, 2000 meeting at American University will be changed as it occurs at the same time at the national AMATYC meeting. Talks are underway to have the Spring, 2002 meeting at the United States Military Academy.

Elections: Elections were held. The newly elected officers for the section are: (a) David Carothers of James Madison University as Chair Elect, and (b) Christopher Barat of Virginia State University as Secretary. Robert Grafton of the National Science Foundation who was elected last spring as Program Chair Elect will begin serving his term as Program Chair.

Award for Distinguished Teaching: Lee May of Salisbury State University, Chair of the Committee and Teaching Award Committee members Mary Kay Abbey, Bonita Saunders, and Ezra (Bud) Brown presented the John M. Smith Distinguished Teaching award winner. The winner this year was Dr. Paul Bourdon of Washington and Lee University who was presented a check for \$200, a plaque, and a certificate. Dr. Bourdon now becomes eligible for the national MAA Teaching award. Dr. Bourdon's area of research is operators theory. Information about Dr. Bourdon was supplied by Dr. Michael J. Evans, the Chair of the Mathematics Department at Washington and Lee. This information was given to the Newsletter Editor for inclusion in the next newsletter.

Book Sales: At this meeting 30 MAA books with total value of \$ 549.00 were sold. There are at least three benefits of purchasing MAA books at the meeting: (a) the prices of the books at the meeting are at least 10% below the regular member price, (b) people can take the books and avoid the shipping fees, and (c) the section gets 12 % of the total sales of books sold at the meetings. In addition, the books are available for people to see before they are purchased. Funds generated by the section from the sale of books goes into the Milcetich fund for support of student awards. For this meeting the Section will receive a rebate of approximately \$65.

Local Arrangements: Howard Penn moved that letters be sent to Bowie State University and to Local Arrangements Chair Karen Benbury expressing the appreciation of the Section for the excellent facilities provided for the meeting. The Section also wishes to thank the Dr. Benbury, the mathematics department, and the Chair of the Department Rebecca Berg for their outstanding work preparing for the meeting. A special thanks also goes to Dr. Joan Langdon, Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, for her support.

Recognition for 25-Year Members: Jon Scott, Governor of the Section, read the names of the members receiving 25 or 50 year membership certificates from MAA. Two of the 25-year members, Betty Mayfield and Florence Ashby, were in attendance to receive their 25-year certificates. James Abbott received a standing ovation for his 50-year membership in MAA. The certificates for those not in attendance were sent after the meeting.

Newsletter: Eve Torrence spoke about changes in the newsletter. The new plan is to send all members the preliminary newsletter. This

will get the call for papers as well as essential meeting information out much earlier. The detailed meeting program as well as registration information will be on the section web site. Members will receive reminder announcements, probably a post card, just prior to registration deadlines. Provisions will be made for members without web access. The items in the newsletter will now be timely, easily corrected as program changes need to be made, and the newsletter will not any page limitations. The national MAA office is investigating the purpose of association software that may provide sections with the ability to do online registration.

Section Project NExT: Betty Mayfield is writing a grant proposal to the MAA so that the section can start its own Project NExT subgroup. The local subgroup will include all national fellows as well as our own local fellows. A group was meeting in the afternoon to firm up the proposal. The first class of section fellows will begin with the Fall, 2000 meeting.

Workshops: This summer's NSF Partnership Workshops were announced as were other summer professional development activities. Information can be found on MAA ONLINE and in FOCUS.

Thank-Yous: Carol Crawford, Section Chair, gave a special thank-you to Betty Mayfield for her leadership over the past years. Outgoing Program Chair Dan Kalman and outgoing Secretary Elizabeth Teles were thanked for their work for the Section.

Respectfully submitted:

Elizabeth J. Teles

Secretary for the Section