## MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Meeting of the General Membership Johns Hopkins University, MD November 5, 2016

Chair John Hamman called the meeting to order. With some corrections – on the executive meeting on April 15, some spelling errors, a clarification on the new Program Chair – the minutes for the Sping 2016 general meeting were approved.

**Treasurer's Report** Treasurer Brian Lins was unable to attend this meeting. John Hamman distributed the treasurer's report. No officer had the official registration numbers for this meeting.

**Governor's Report** Jennifer Bergner opened with news that she may be the last governor of the section, the office of governor being redefined as "section representative," if new proposed bylaws are approved.

The heart of the proposed bylaws is that the Board of Governors is to be replaced by a smaller "Executive Board" and a larger "Congress." Each section governor would become a "Section Representative," whose role will be primarily advisory and who will serve on a "Congress". One motivation for a smaller Executive Board is to facilitate the Association's ability to make quicker decisions on fiduciary issues. A benefit for the section is that the representative can focus on MAA mission more so than the MAA's finances.

Unrelated to governance, the proposed bylaws would do away with the model of publishing in-house, instead outsourcing MAA publications to what is effectively a "print-ondemand."

Jennifer Bergner opened the floor for discussion on proposed bylaws. Some concern was expressed that the bylaws were concentrating power in much more than the fiduciary sense and that there ought to be more opportunity for substained deliberation. Another member reads the bylaws as being that the Executive Board is not intended to be separate but integrated – for example, three of the Executive Board will be from the proposed "Congress."

Another member expressed cautious optimism, saying that if the role of Section Governeor is radically defined, then the governor becomes primarily an advocate for the regional section rather than its current primary responsibility of governance of the national organization.

Jennifer Bergner stressed that voting on proposed bylaws is open to all members, not just governors or section officers. Jennifer encouraged each individual member to vote at the upcoming Joint Meetings.

Jennifer closed her report by encouraging graduate students to join the MAA.

Section Chair's Report At the Spring general meeting the motion to merge the section's teaching award and service award committees was passed. There will be an email sent to the membership with proposed changes of the section's bylaws to reflect this passed motion.

John Hamman encouraged nominations for upcoming open officer positions. Those who are interested are asked to contact David Taylor. The open positions are At-Large, Newsletter, and Treasurer.

Section NExT Report Dina Yagodich reports that there are 8 current fellows, four who are new this year, and introduces those fellows in attendance. Dina encourages other members to serve as mentors to new fellows.

A motion to improve Math Jeopardy! David Taylor asked if the membership can support an expenditure of "professional buzzers." In support of the motion, David said that the buzzers would facilitate fairness in Math Jeopardy competitions. Longtime Math Jeopardy co-host, Bud Brown, enthusiastically supported the measure. Another member asked about costs and warranty of buzzers. David believes that they have a 5 year warranty. Motion was carried.

Sister Helen Christensen Service Award Ethan Duckworth and Amy Shell-Gellasch, members of the Service Award committee, announced David Carothers as the 2016 Sister Helen Christensen Service Awardee. An extensive list of Dave's service accomplishments to the association and to the profession were expounded upon by Ethan Duckworth. Betty Mayfield, who is not eligible for the Sister Helen Christensen Service Award owing to her being a past recipient of an MAA service award, was also acknowledged by the committee for her extensive service.

**Other announcements** Bud Brown moved that letters of thanks be sent to appropriate officials at John Hopkins University; the motion was seconded and unanimously approved.

Congratulations were offered to Caren Diefenderfer, who will be one of three recipients of the MAA Haimo Award at the JMM 2017.

The meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by: Edwin O'Shea, Secretary, MD-DC-VA Section