MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Membership Meeting Minutes Christopher Newport University, Newport News, VA November 5, 2011

Dan Joseph called the meeting to order.

1.) The minutes of the April 16th membership meeting were approved as distributed.

2.) Brian Lins presented the treasurer's report. An error on the John G. Milcetich balance was pointed out and corrected to \$1385.83. Brian reported that pre-registration included 24 students and 19 members of Section NExT. There was some discussion about the trend in the section's general balance and the impact of the MAA subvention and the section's contribution to Project NExT.

3.) Dan Kalman noted that he had nothing to add to the Governor's report that was published on the web.

4.) Dan Kalman read the names* of those being honored by MAA for 25 years and 50 years of membership.

5.) Ann Stewart reported that the 13 new Section NExT fellows include six from Virginia, four from Maryland, and three from DC. She pointed out that there were 13 continuing fellows but no fellows in this year's class from two-year colleges. She announced that Lee May and Frank Quinn conducted sessions for the 22 fellows in attendance at the meeting.

6.) a.) Dan Joseph announced that as a result of previous discussions and concerns a section committee on mathematics education was being formed that would be chaired by Randy Cone. It was pointed out that while the committee had a potentially broad charge, the committee would have the flexibility to narrow its focus. Betty Mayfield mentioned that there was a new Maryland chapter of the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators. Dan indicated that those interested in serving on the committee should contact Randy Cone at conere10@vmi.edu.

b.) Dan Joseph spoke of the importance of getting more schools to participate in section meetings. He asked those who had ideas on how to do this to contact him at josephds@vmi.edu

7.) Dan Kalman asked if section NExT was using social media. Ann indicated that they were thinking of it.

8.) A motion from Bud Brown to direct the secretary to write a letter of appreciation to our hosts at Christopher Newport University was approved..

9.) Dan Joseph expressed thanks to CNU and John Hamman for his work organizing the event.

10.)The meeting was adjourned.

50 YEARS

*

Carney, Charles L (Mr) Leggett, Robert N Jr (Mr) Schaefer, Marvin Montague, J S (Mr) Morris, Joseph R (Dr) Pfaltz, John L (Mr) Piegari, George (Mr) Krause, Ralph M Nelson, Larry D (Dr) Kahn, Robert E (Dr) Meskin, Stephen A (Dr) Chase, Phillip J (Dr) Berglund, John F (Dr) McDonald, Bernard R (Dr) McCoart, Richard F (Dr)

25 YEARS

Abrams, William P (Mr) Gray, W Steven Heaney, Timothy (Mr) Dresner, Norman A Rosenberg, Jonathan M Marafino, John T Avello, Alfredo J (Mr) Bailey, R Clifton (Dr) Fyfe, David E Lutterodt, Clement H. Derise, George (Dr)