MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Christopher Newport University, Newport News, VA November 4, 2011

Attending: Dan Joseph, Dan Kalman, Brian Lins, Dan Symancyk, John Hamman, David Taylor, Dawit Haile, Jennifer Bergner, Ann Stewart, Leigh Lunsford, Don Spickler, and Randy Cone.

Dan Joseph called the meeting to order.

- 1.) The minutes of the April 15th Executive Committee meeting were approved as distributed.
- 2.) Brian Lins presented the treasurer's report. Expenses reflected that fact that the student presentation winner from the spring meeting did not go to MathFest. Discussion followed about how to communicate this benefit to the winner and about the section's account balance. It was agreed to watch the balance and make an effort to keep it where it is.
- 3.) Dan Kalman reported that when making an award nomination you can contact the national office about membership information since the combined membership list is not always up to date. He also reported about the perception at the national level about variations in the quality of the nomination award packets for the national teaching award. Other than the information MAA puts on the web there is no sample packet or rubric that can be used when preparing an application.
- 4.) Dan Joseph announced that he was soliciting members for the Nominating Committee and that he would be asking Dipa Sarkar-Dey as past section chair to serve as the committee's chair.
- 5.) John Hamman reported that Stevenson University would host the section meeting on April 13-14, 2012. VMI was interested in hosting the fall 2012 meeting but had conflicts with the "usual" November time frame but could host on October 26-27, 2012. After some discussion about problems this date might cause for MAA members involved with the Virginia Tech math contest, the date for fall 2012 was set as October 26-27, 2012 at VMI. It was announced that Salisbury would host in spring 2013 and that a location was needed for fall 2013.
- 6.) Ann Stewart reported that there are 13 Section NExT fellows in the class of 2013\*. She pointed out that there were three participants from colleges in DC but no participants this year from two-year colleges. She announced that Lee May and Frank Quinn would be conducting sessions for the fellows at this meeting. After some discussion it was agreed that Ann could make some arrangements for a fellow who had moved to West Virginia to continue next year.
- 7.) Dan Joseph distributed a document, Charge for the Committee on Mathematics Education, and announced that he had asked Randy Cone who is in charge of the Mathematics Education Resources Center at VMI to chair the committee. After some discussion of the broad charges in the document, it was agreed that the committee would have the flexibility to narrow the focus.
- 8.) Dan Joseph spoke of the importance of getting more schools to participate in section meetings.

The idea of encouraging schools in the vicinity of a school hosting a section meeting to send participants was discussed.

- 9.) a.) Dan Joseph asked for ideas for a section social event.
  - b.) John Hamman encouraged schools to offer the AMC 8 test.
  - c.) Dan Kalman suggested that NExT fellows be encouraged to get involved with this.
  - d.) John Hamman and David Taylor were thanked for the program arrangements.
- 10.) The meeting was adjourned.

\*

## The 2103 Section NExT Fellows:

John David of Virginia Military Institute, Avner Halevy of Randolph-Macon College, Spencer Hamblin of McDaniel College, Will Heuett of Marymount University, Emek Kose of Saint Mary's College of MD, Kathryn Linehan of Hood College, Kerry Luse of Trinity Washington University, Edwin O'Shea of James Madison University, Katie Quertermous of James Madison University, Prasad Senesi of The Catholic University of America, Vijay Sookdeo of The Catholic University of America, Thomas Wears of Longwood University, and Gwyneth Whieldon of Hood College.