MD-DC-VA Section of MAA Membership Meeting Minutes George Mason University, Fairfax, VA November 6, 2010

- 1.) Dipa Choudhury called the meeting to order and asked for a moment of silence for Professor Joan Morrison from Goucher College and Professor Susan Slattery from Stevenson University.
- 2.) The minutes of the April 17th membership meeting were approved as distributed.
- 3.) Jan Minton reviewed the financial report that was distributed and reported that 6 freshmen, 6 sophomores, 5 juniors, 13 seniors, and 1 graduate student had pre-registered for the meeting. A brief discussion on whether or not the section should have a policy on maintaining a minimum balance was held.
- 4.) Dan Kalman indicated that he would have a brief report since he and Dipa had given a detailed joint report in the fall newsletter. He encouraged members to look at what MAA (http://webwork.maa.org) has available for the online grading of homework. Dan indicated that he was impressed with the section's website and by the prompt response time by our webmaster, Don Spickler
- 5.) Ann Stewart reported that there are 14 members of the Section NExT class of 2012 with 11 members of the class from Virginia schools and 3 from Maryland. There were two panel discussion held at the meeting. The topics for the panels were undergraduate research and effective teaching when the class's ability is bimodal.
- 6.) Jennifer Bergner asked that members look at the undergraduate page on our section's website. She also reviewed plans for a mathematical Amazing Race competition that she was planning for the spring meeting. This contest, which would be in addition to Jeopardy, would promote additional student participation.
- 7.) Dan Kalman read the names of those being recognized by MAA for 25 and 50 years of membership. For 25 years these were Ronald Calinger, Elaine Magee, Thomas Mayo, Jan McGarry, Vincent Mirelli, Kenneth Moss, Robert Reynolds, Arthur Robinson, Ronald Sturm, and Convers Wyeth. The 50 year members are Walter Elias, John Hennessey, Lois Reid, and Richard Summerville.
- 8.) Dipa recognized Jon Scott who gave an overview of the process used to revise the ByLaws. Dipa then lead a page by page review of the proposal.

There was a question about the second sentence of Article V Section 1, "The amount of registration fees shall be determined by the Executive Committee." Following some discussion, Dipa asked the membership to confirm that it was in favor of keeping the wording in Article V Section 1 as distributed. There was agreement to do so.

A friendly amendment to place a comma between "Section" and "the" in Article V Section 2 was

accepted.

An amendment to Article III Section 8 to add "for that position" following the words "until the next election" was approved.

The membership then approved the proposed new ByLaws as amended.

Dipa then thanked Jon Scott and the members of the ByLaws committee for their hard work.

- 9.) Dipa announced that Alex Meadows, Caren Diefenderfen, and Denny Gulick would serve on the Nominating Committee.
- 10.) Dipa announced that the Executive Committee was looking into publishing the proceedings of our meetings on our website. Since this could only be done with the involvement of someone coordinating this effort, she asked that anyone interested in being editor of section proceedings to contact her or Dan Kalman.
- 11.) The membership unanimously approved a motion from Bud Brown to direct the secretary to write a letter of appreciation to our hosts and to include the Howard Penn Certificate of Appreciation.

Bud also asked the membership to join in a round of applause for the chair in recognition of how she handled the ByLaw changes.

- 12.) Dipa announced that the next meeting is at Randolph Macon College on April 15-16, 2011.
- 13.) The meeting was adjourned.