MD/DC/VA Section of the MAA Fall 2005 General Membership Meeting Montgomery College, Germantown November 5, 2005

Eve Torrence called the meeting to order at 10:00 am.

- 1. Approval of minutes. The minutes of the Spring 2005 meeting at the University of Virginia were approved as amended: the mentions of the president of the section should be changed to chair of the section and the winners of the student poster prizes (Sarah Goorlie at American and Andrew Bashelor at USNA) should be added.
- 2. Treasurer's report. Robb Koether gave a report on the finances of the section. We have about \$9,900 in our general account, \$346 in the Section NExT account, \$1,725 in the John G. Milcetich Memorial Student Achievement Fund and \$1,260 in our Project NExT fund (to fund a fellow at the national level). Robb also responded to some questions raised at past meetings. The newsletter charges are due to photocopying and mailing expenses incurred in sending newsletters to other sections and the national office. We've decided to send only electronic copies next time, so the cost for the newsletter should drop significantly. We are involved with two NExT projects. The Section NExT funds are coming from increased dues revenues and fund local fellows. We also fund a fellow in the national program from our general fund and from an optional check box on the meeting registration forms.

The meeting had the following registration (pre-registered figures are in brackets): total 120 (91), 2 year colleges 18 (9), 4 year colleges 26 (22), universities 43 (32), business/industry/government 7 (5), undergraduate students 15 (12), graduate students 3 (3), others 8 (8). There were 15 Section NExT fellows that attended.

Dan Kalman suggested putting some of the section balance in a certificate since we are not getting much interest. Perhaps a high-yield savings account would be another option.

3. Governor's report. Dave Carothers also described the Section NExT/Project NExT distinction and announced the names of new national fellows from our section. They are: Katherine Crowley (Washington and Lee

University), Randall D. Helmstutler (University of Mary Washington), Gretchen A. Koch (Goucher College), David W. Shoenthal (Longwood University), Jiyuan Tao (Loyola College of Maryland), and Anthony L. Tongen (James Madison University). Our section is the one of the first sections to sponsor a fellow at the national Project NExT. We are contacting book publishers to solicit contributions to help support the national fellow and we are also accepting donations from our members for this purpose. He encouraged members to make nominations for a new prize at the national level: the Annie and John Selden award for Research in Undergraduate Education. In addition, members may make nominations for: the Morgan prize, which recognizes excellent student research, and the Alder award, which recognizes excellent undergraduate student teaching from a new instructor. Our colleague (and program chair elect) Laura Taalman won this award in 2005. Please nominate colleagues in our section for these awards.

The national meeting will be held in San Antonio this year on Jan 12 - 15. This year the meeting ends on a Sunday, rather than a Saturday. This may be because the following Monday (Jan 16) is a federal holiday.

- 4. Section NExT. Jackie Hall reported that we have 19 fellows in the program at the moment, 10 of them are new fellows this year. The fellows are participating in a special program of events during the meeting. The 2006 fellows are: Divya E. Devadoss (Salisbury University), Keith E. Mellinger (University of Mary Washington), Aurelia Minut (US Naval Academy), Luca Petrelli (Mount St. Mary's University), Phillip L. Poplin (Longwood University), David Shoenthal (Longwood University), James Taylor (CTY, Johns Hopkins University), Kathryn Trapp (University of Richmond), Joycelyn Wilson (Howard University). The 2007 fellows are: James D. Bowling (Bridgewater College), Danny O. Cline (Lynchburg College), Sommer Gentry (United States Naval Academy), Gregory Hartman (Virginia Military Institute), Nusrat Jahan (James Madison University), Gretchen A. Koch (Goucher College), Amit Trehan (Montgomery College), Vitaly Shvetsov (Montgomery College), Ismar Volic (University of Virginia), Ling Xu (James Madison University).
- 5. Distinguished teaching award. Bud Brown solicited nominations for the section teaching award. The winner will be eligible for the Haimo award (the national teaching award) too. A very short 1 page nomination form is

available on our website. The deadline is Nov. 18, 2005. Bob Lewand is heading the committee that handles the teaching award.

- 6. Chair's report. Eve Torrence introduced all the section officers and spoke about the following topics:
- a. Section officer election nominations. Six positions will be open for election in the spring. They are: chair elect, secretary, student activities coordinator, liaison coordinator and 2 at-large positions. If you are interested in serving or want to nominate someone else, contact Bruce Torrence, who will head the nomination committee.
- b. Future meetings.
- * Loyola College, Baltimore, MD, April 7-8 2006 (Local coordinator: Dipa Choudhoury)
- * Hampden-Sydney College and Longwood College, Farmville, VA, Fall 2006
- * Roanoke College, Roanoke, VA, Spring 2007
- c. Undergraduate conference at the spring meeting. There will be a special undergraduate conference at the spring meeting. Faculty in the section are encouraged to have students present their research at this meeting.
- d. Newsletter. The newsletter is going to be entirely electronic. No postcards will be sent out as reminders (they are very costly), but it will be advertised by email. The national MAA will handle sending out the email to our section and this will save us about \$1500 per year. In order to further distribute newsletters, we ask that liaisons print the newsletter and put in their math lounge.
- e. Website redesign. We are looking into the costs and benefits of redesigning our section website.
- 7. Other business. None.
- 8. Thank you. A motion was made to direct the secretary to send a letter of thanks to Montgomery College, Germantown for their excellent job hosting the conference.

9. Margaret Latimer, Chair of the math department at the Germantown branch of Montgomery College, welcomed the membership to Montgomery College and spoke about the excellent job that Jon Scott has done in making local arrangements.

Meeting adjourned, 10:45 am.