LA/MS Concerns Committee

2002 Meeting Minutes

Committee Chairman : Clifton Wingard, Delta State University
Members Present : Clifton Wingard, Melinda Gann, Brian Heck, Shaochen Yang
Members Absent : Tilak de Alwis, Stan Chadick
Also Present: Connie Campbell, Section Governor

The committee met on March 1 and began by discussing concerns of the committee members. Items discussed were:

Concern was expressed over the low and in some cases declining number of mathematics majors in our institutions and also the retention of students in the major. The committee encourages departments to increase their efforts to recruit students into the mathematics programs and study means by which to meet the students' needs in order to retain these students as mathematics majors.

Increasing numbers of students who are under prepared for college level mathematics are being graduated from high schools. The committee encourages institutions to increase their efforts in educating preservice teachers at all levels as well as in providing continuing educational experiences for in-service teachers at all levels.

The committee noted the importance of assessment at the department level and encourages all mathematics departments to increase efforts in assessing all aspects of their programs.

Because of some existing committee members who were appointed recently have left the section prior to rotating off the committee and others having been named to fill the vacated positions, the committee decided the length of the term of the current committee members to achieve the correct rotational balance. The years in which the terms expire for the committee members are as follows:

         2002 - Shaochen Yang, Tilak de Alwis
         2003 - Clifton Wingard, Stan Chadick
         2004 - Melinda Gann , Brian Heck  

The committee agreed that Clifton Wingard would continue to chair the committee for the March 2002 - March 2003 term, and he accepted the position.