MAA Menu


Teaching Award
Service Award
Anderson Lecture
Section NExT
Section Logos




MAA Menu

People - LA/MS Section of the MAA


Executive Committee

Section NExT Committee

Anderson Lectureship Committee

Location and Nomination Committee

Student Competition Committee

Student Papers Committee

Proceedings Committee

Outstanding Teacher Award Committee

Mathematics Concerns Committee (Currently Inactive)

Departmental MAA Liaisons

Institutional Partners

Distinguished Teaching Award Winners

Former Section Chairs / Annual Meeting Locations

Executive Committee

Section Chair: Jana Talley, Jackson State University

Program Chair: Jeremy Thibodeaux, Loyola University

Program Chair Elect: Laura Sheppardson, The University of Mississippi

Secretary/Treasurer: Christy Sue Langley, UL Lafayette

Newsletter Editor: James Reid, Centenary College of Louisiana

Immediate Past Program Chair: Kevin Burns, Mississippi College

Web Coordinator: Tom Schulte, Upper Iowa University

MAA Section Representative: Laura Sheppardson, The University of Mississippi

The Section Chair and Section Representative/Governor serve three-year terms. The Program Chair serves a one-year position.

Section NExT Committee

Coordinator: Carmen M. Wright, Jackson State University

Christine Gorton, McNeese State
Carmen Wright, Jackson State

Anderson Lectureship Committee

Chair:  Judith Covington, MAA Section Representative

LSU Shreveport
One University Place
Shreveport, LA 71115

Section Chair - Jana Talley (Jackson State)
At-Large Representative - Jenna Carpenter
Members - John Travis (MC), Tommy Leavelle (MC)

Location and Nomination Committee

Chair: Ross Chiquet (UL) – term expires 2021

Christine Gorton (McNeese) – term expires 2020
Leigh Ann Myers (Northwestern State) – term expires 2019
Katherine Brandl (Centenary) – term expires 2022

Student Competition Committee

Chair: Randy Wills (SELU)

Jeremy Thibodeaux (Loyola)
David Bramlett (JSU)
Lew Lefton (UNO)
Mark Lynch (Millsaps)
Tilak De Alwis (SELU)
Dr. Julie Roy (UL Lafayette)

Student Paper Committee

Chair: Haiyan Tian (USM) - term expires 2020
Submit papers to:

Daniel Watson (MC) - term expires 2021
Lisa Galminas (Northwestern) - term expires 2022
Carmen Wright (Jackson State) - term expires 2019
Katherine Brandl (Centenary) - term expires 2020

Proceedings Committee

Managing Editor: James Reid, Centenary College of Louisiana

Editor: Ken Li, Southeastern Louisiana University

Technical Editor: John Travis, Mississippi College

Persons interested in submitting papers for consideration should contact the Managing Editor.

Outstanding Teacher Award Committee

Chair: John Perry (USM) - term expires 2019
submit nominations to

 Tommy Leavelle (MC) - term expires 2020
Christy Sue Langley (UL) - term expires 2021

Mathematical Concerns Committee

Committee is currently Inactive

Spring 2003
Spring 2002
Spring 2001
Spring 1998
Spring 1996





MAA Menu

© 1995-2019, by Section Web Coordinator
This page is a vital part of the Mathematical Association of America.