MAA Menu


Teaching Award
Service Award
Anderson Lecture
Section NExT
Section Logos




MAA Menu



Historical Archives

Section Meeting Locations/Programs | Section Governors/Officers | Old Document Scans

This page is under construction and will likely be so for a while.  If you have any historical documents or recollections which you would like to have posted to this site, please contact John Travis.  Many of the documents herein are scanned images which should still be viewable using your browser but may appear small in your browser.  You can likely click on each graphic (or do CTRL +) to zoom in to a larger, more readable version.

Annual Section Meetings - 1993 - present

2018 Lafayette, LA.  Hosted by Ross Chiquet - Program
2017 - Millsaps, MS.
2016 - Shreveport, LA. Hosted by LSU-Shreveport and Dr. Judith Covington - Program
2015 - Biloxi, MS. Hosted by the University of Mississippi Gulf Coast and Dr. Karen Kohl - Program
2014 - Baton Rouge, LA. Hosted by the University of Louisiana and Dr. George Cochran - Program
2013 - Hattiesburg, MS . Hosted by the University of Southern Mississippi and Dr. John Perry  - Program
2012 - Natchitoches, LA. Hosted by Northwestern State and Dr. Frank Serio  - Program
2011 - Oxford, MS. Hosted by the University of Mississippi and Dr. Laura Sheppardson  - Program
2010 - Hammond, LA. Hosted by Southeastern Louisiana University and Dr. Randy Wills - Program
2009 - Clinton, MS. Hosted by Mississippi College and Dr. Tommy Leavelle - Program
2008 - Lake Charles, LA. Hosted by McNeese State University and Dr. Lenny Ornas  - Program w/Cover
2007 - Starkville, MS. Hosted by Mississippi State University and Dr. Seth Oppenheimer - Program
2006 - Ruston, LA.  Hosted by Louisiana Tech University and Dr. Jenna Carpenter
2005 - Gulfport, MS.  Hosted by University of Southern Mississippi and Dr. Wally Pye - Photos
2004 - Hammond, LA.  Hosted by Southeastern Louisiana University and Dr. Randy Wills
2003 - Clinton, MS.  Hosted by Mississippi College and Dr. John Travis - - Program - Photos
2002 - Natchitoches, LA.  Hosted by Northwestern State University and Dr. Frank Serio
2001 - Oxford, MS.  Hosted by University of Mississippi and Dr. Gerard Buskes - Program
2000 - Lafayette, LA.  Hosted by University of Louisiana, Lafayette and Dr. Roger Waggoner - Program
1999 - Jackson, MS.  Hosted by Jackson State University and Dr. Bessie Tucker - Program
1998 - New Orleans, LS.  Hosted by University of New Orleans and Dr. Mohammed Malrous - Program
1997 - Jackson, MS.  Hosted by Millsaps College and Dr. Connie Campbell - Program
1996 - Baton Rouge, LA.  Hosted by Southern University and Dr. Phil Quartararo
1995 - Biloxi, MS. Hosted by Mississippi State University and Dr. R. Shivaji.
1994 - Thibodaux, Louisiana. Hosted by Nichols State University.
1993 - Biloxi, MS. Hosted by Mississippi State University.

1991 - McNeese State University /
1990 - ?

Meeting Locations - 1955-1989
Meeting Location - current

Governors/Officers of the Louisiana/Mississippi Section

2016 - 2019 - Judith Covington, LSU-Shreveport
2013 - 2016 - James Reid, Ole Miss
2010 - 2013 - Jenna Carpenter, La Tech
2007 - 2010 - John Travis, Mississippi College
2004 - 2007 - Roger Waggoner, UL - Lafayette
2001 - 2004 - Connie Campbell, Millsaps
1998 - 2001 - Stan Chadick, Northwestern State
1995 - 1998 - Charles Alexander, Ole Miss
1992 - 1995 - Don Bardwell, Nichols State

Section Governors - 1941-1989
Section Governors - 1990 - present

Section Officers - 1930-19661966-1990

National MAA Presidents from LA/MS

Old Document Scans

Historical Outline:  Pages 1234567891011

Annual Reports to the National Office

A large quantity of old scanned documents are housed at this directory. It looks like the MAA server will not allow people to browse directories so looks like patience is a virtue. A partial list of files follows. You can guess some of the URLs for the scans from 1955 to 1984:

MAA1 - Historical Summary

MAA2 - Section Officers 1931-1990

MAA3 - Attendance and Place of Meeting 1955-1989

MAAByLaws - Old By-Laws

MAAStudentPaper - Old Student Paper Competition Rules

Old Section Meeting Programs:


MAA Menu

© 1995-2019, by Section Web Coordinator John Travis
This page is a vital part of the Mathematical Association of America.