Winter 2023 KYMAA Newsletter

From the chair



I hope you have had a rejuvenating winter break and have started a productive new semester.

Reserve the weekend of March 31 for the section's first in-person meeting since the pandemic occurred! I'm looking forward to renewing old acquaintances face-to-face, as well as meeting new members to the section. New to our spring meeting this year is a KY NExT luncheon and

professional development event. If you are a new faculty member, this event is for you. Be sure to read through the newsletter for details about this year's meeting details as well as our new streamlined teaching award nomination guidelines.

See you in a few months!

Steve Wilkinson, KYMAA Chair

KYMAA Meritorious Service Award Nomination



Once every five years, KYMAA recognizes one of its own for excellence in service to the section. The section is pleased to nominate **Thomas A**. **Richmond** of Western Kentucky University (WKU) for the MAA Meritorious Service Award. Since arriving at WKU as a fresh PhD in 1986, Tom has been an outstanding teacher, scholar, and mentor. His publications are extensive and varied. He has held the honor of being a University Distinguished Professor since 2016 and received the WKU Ogden College of Science and Engineering Award for Advising for 2009-2010. He has been

active in the MAA both in Kentucky and nationally. His talks at section meetings are always eagerly anticipated. He served as Chair-Elect in 2006–2007, Chair in 2008–2009, and Representative to the national MAA in 2017-2019. Most importantly, Tom always provides a thoughtful, helpful, and wise voice in section deliberations.

Our thanks go to the Meritorious Service Award Nominating Committee for their work in making this nomination to the MAA:

Daniel J. Curtin, Chair, Professor Emeritus, Northern Kentucky University; Doug Chatham, Professor, Morehead State University; Kathryn Marie Lewis, Associate Professor, Morehead State University; Duk Lee, Associate Professor, Asbury College

Spring 2023 KYMAA Meeting

This year's KYMAA meeting will be held at <u>Georgetown College</u> on Friday and Saturday, March 31 and April 1.



Invited speakers include Edray Goins from Pomona College, Mark Branson from Stevenson University, and Dan Curtin, KYMAA's Historian and Professor Emeritus, from Northern Kentucky University.

To register for the 2023 Spring KYMAA Meeting, visit: <u>https://forms.gle/sJMvRpuF7ERT4KmZ6</u>. This year the registration fee is \$30.00 for faculty, \$15.00 for retired faculty, and is free for students. If you want to attend the Friday night banquet, it will be \$25.00 for faculty, \$15.00 for students. The Saturday lunch is \$9.00 for faculty and free for students. The registration deadline for either the banquet or the luncheon is Friday, March 24. Georgetown University has reserved rooms at the Holiday Inn Express and the Hilton Garden Inn for registrants.

The section is interested in what you have been up to this past year. You can apply to present in the **contributed paper sessions** by submitting your abstract at <u>https://forms.gle/g4MGeamndWK9vWpd9</u>. **The deadline for abstracts is Friday, March 17th**.

To make the section more welcoming to new faculty, this year we are hosting a Kentucky NExT. This **Section NExT event** will include a luncheon followed by a professional development event and informal networking time. Participation is open to early career faculty who have been hired since Fall 2020. To register for this FREE event, visit: <u>https://forms.gle/hpadSSJMV1xnVtQq8</u>.

New teaching award nomination guidelines



Every year the KYMAA recognizes one of its own for excellence in teaching mathematics. KYMAA's Distinguished Teacher award winners are recognized as extraordinarily successful in their teaching. They foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students.

For this award, teaching is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching. It may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level like the Putnam Prize Competition or the Mathematical Contest in Modeling, attracting students to major in the mathematical sciences or to become Ph.D. candidates, working with pre-service or in-service teachers, etc.

This year we have streamlined the guidelines for nominating someone for this award. If you think one of your colleagues is deserving, even if they are not a member of the MAA, we encourage you to nominate them. In the nomination process, provide basic information about the nominee--including why you think they should be the winner--as well as information about yourself, the nominator, in a Google form (<u>https://forms.gle/Bk4TPHofdNcaWzNe8</u>). The **deadline for nominations is Friday, March 3**.

Officer elections

For this year there are five offices the section must fill. For details on duties for each office and the office term, see the section <u>bylaws</u>.



Section Representative

This is an elected office. The election is run by the national office and is online. Voting runs from February 7 to March 9. The office has been held by Duk Lee of Asbury University whose term expires this year. The section's nomination committee has given us two nominees:

- Kathy Lewis from Morehead State University
- Jake Wildstrom from the University of Louisville

Other Elected Offices

There are two office members that will be elected during the KYMAA Spring 2023 meeting at Georgetown College.

- **Chair-Elect**. This office has been held by Elizabeth Donovan from Murray State University. This year Steve Wilkinson, Northern Kentucky University, completes his term as Chair and Elizabeth assumes that office.
- **Newsletter Editor**. The section last year voted Axel Brandt into this office. However, Axel who was at Northern Kentucky University took a new position outside of our section this fall. This office is currently vacant.

Appointed Offices

There are two office members that will be appointed by the Executive Committee immediately after the spring meeting.

- **Historian.** Dan Curtin, retired from Northern Kentucky University, completes his term this year.
- Webmaster. Scott Dillery, Lindsey Wilson College, is leaving the position this year.

If you would like to nominate someone for any of the last four offices (self nominations are welcome as well), contact Section Chair Steve Wilkinson by email at <u>wilkinson@nku.edu</u>. He will forward nominations for elected offices to the Nominating Committee and those for the appointed office to Chair-Elect Elizabeth Donovan.

For your reading pleasure

For this newsletter we are including an article authored by Bob Riehemann of Thomas More University, "The Anthropology of Poverty." It uses game theory to analyze why so many of those born into poverty remain so. Follow the <u>link</u> to read further.

Interested in contributing to the Newsletter? Let us know!

If you would like to contribute a short article or problem, or even share news from your department in the Newsletter please let us know. Email Section Chair, Steve Wilkinson (wilkinson@nku.edu) today!