Fall 2015 Newsletter

The Fall 2015 newsletter is available online. Also, be certain to check out the newsletter archive to catch up on past newsletters.

Read more

Congratulations to Professor Joe Yanik
of Emporia State University, who was recently elected the next KSMAA Governor!

Congratulations to Professor Andrew Bennett
of K-State, who was a recipient of the prestigious
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished Teaching of Mathematics

picture of Prof. Bennett receiving Haimo award


Congratulations to Cynthia Huffman, University Professor of Mathematics at Pittsburg State University, on receiving the 2015 KSMAA Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics!!!

picture of Prof. Cynthia Huffman

2016 KSMAA Meeting Date

The 2016 KSMAA meeting is scheduled to be held April 8-9, 2016 in Hays, KS at Fort Hays State University. Hope to see you there!!!

What's new with MAA?

To see an overview of what's new with the MAA, take a look at the Section Governors Presentation 2015.

MAA centennial logo


Annual Meetings

The 2015 KSMAA meeting was held at Fort Scott Community College in Ft. Scott, KS on March 27-28, 2015. Dr. Jenna Carpenter, 1st Vice President of the MAA and Wayne and Juanita Spinks Professor of Mathematics, Associate Dean of Administration & Strategic Initiatives, and Director of the Office for Women in Science and Engineering at Louisiana Tech University, was the keynote speaker, speaking on "Mentoring Women and Underrepresented Minorities in Mathematics" and "Women in Computing."

picture of Prof. Jenna Carpenter

Follow the link to read more.

Read more

The 10th Kansas Collegiate Math Competition was held from 8-11 AM on March 28th, 2015, at Fort Scott Community College, in conjunction with the 2015 MAA Kansas Sectional Meeting.
For more information, please visit http://pittstate.edu/department/math/competition