Summary and Highlights of the 2007 Iowa Section Meeting


This yearŐs meeting was April 13-14 at Drake University, Des Moines.  Sixty-three people attended the meeting; 10 were undergraduates, 3 were graduate students, and 35 people were MAA members.


Our plenary speaker for Friday and Saturday was Joe Gallian, President of the MAA.  We had many wonderful presentations by guests and members of the Section.  There were 6 undergraduate and 2 graduate student presentations as well as 15 non-student presentations. 


Martha (Murphy) Waggoner of Simpson College was elected Vice Chair-Elect.  Simpson College will host the 2008 Section meeting in April.  Moving into new officer positions after this yearŐs meeting are Mariah Birgen (Past Chair), Elgin Johnston (Chair), Larry Naylor (Chair-Elect).  Cal Van Niewaal will become Governor this summer.  In addition, we have new members on the Executive Committee:  Al Hibbard will be the Information Director (two years) and Monica Meissen will be Liaison Coordinator (three years).


This was the first year that Iowa Section NExT held a workshop before the Section.  Iowa NExT welcomed one new member this year.  Attendance at the Workshop was low in numbers but lively in conversation.


MAA Book sales at the meeting were good; the Section will receive a portion of the sales.



Respectfully Submitted,

Wendy Weber

Section Secretary