Meetings and Events
       Fall 2018
         Call for Papers
         Meeting Registration Form
        Meeting Info
            Preliminary Program
            Lodging & Directions
        Past Meetings
        Future Meetings
        National Events
        Other Events
        Local Checklist

        Current News
        Section Chair Statement
        Section Representative's Report
        Conference Pictures
        Section History
        Past News

        Executive Board
        Section Bylaws
        Past Members

        Registration Forms
        Results & Test Archive
        Past Winners

Section Awards
        MAA Service
Schools and Outreach
        Indiana Schools
        College Visitors Program
Indiana Project NExT
Various Links


Spring meeting of the Indiana Section of the Mathematical Association of America

Friday-Saturday, April 4-5, 2014


Call for Papers NOW CLOSED - extended due date March 21
Web-based registration (via NOW CLOSED

2014 ICMC pre-registration NOW CLOSED. (late registration also available on-site)
<---(registration links appear on left menu bar)

Announcement from the Chair

Invited Speakers:

Stephen Kennedy
Senior Acquisitions Editor for MAA Books

Two Heads Are Better Than None

Sarah Greenwald
Appalachian State University
Mathematical Morsels from Futurama and The Simpsons

MAA Section News
INMAA Spring Meeting: April 4-5 at IPFW

Greetings to all friends of the INMAA,

I hope that you all have had snow-free day or two.  I would like to invite you all to attend the spring meeting of the Indiana Section at Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne in Fort Wayne on April fourth and fifth.  Our featured speakers will be Sarah Greenwald and Stephen Kennedy.  Sarah Greenwald will be the after dinner speaker and will Speak on "Mathematical Morsels from the Simpsons and Futurama."  Stephen Kennedy is the Senior Acquisitions Editor for MAA Books and his talk is titled "Two Heads are Better than None."  The spring meeting features the Indiana College Mathematics Competition.  This year is the forty-ninth competition, the inaugural being in 1966. We also feature a Indiana Project NExT panel discussion. This year's panelists will be: Melissa Desjarlais (Valparaiso), Angie Walls (Franklin) and Jeff Watt (IUPUI). They will be discussing "Goals and Pedagogy for Remedial Mathematics".

We eagerly invite contributed talks, especially those by students.  A Call for Papers, Meeting Registration Form, and information on Lodging & Directions are on our web page at  The deadline for submission of a contributed talk is Friday, March 14*.  Student speakers will receive a coupon good for a free, or significantly discounted, book at the meeting's on-site book sale. 

Early registration for the conference runs through Sunday March 30; early registration guarantees a cheaper rate as well as availability of meals.

As usual, we are seeking nominations for the Indiana Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics and the Indiana Section Award for Distinguished Service.   For details on how to submit a nomination for the teaching award please go to  For details on the service award please go to

I appreciate the past and continued work of the INMAA leadership.  Past-chair Melvin Royer organized two very successful section meetings at Butler University and Indiana University East.  Our current Executive Board members are:  John Rickert (vice-chair and chair elect), Haseeb Kazi (secretary), Adam Coffman (public information officer), Justin Gash (student activities coordinator [His hard work makes the ICMC possible.]) and Michael Karls (section governor).   I wish to especially thank Adam Coffman for his many years of hard work as the webmaster and public information officer.  He is retiring and handing off his office to Josh Holden.  Our Indiana Project NExT coordinator is Lara Pudwell.  She has been very active in promoting professional development and networking opportunities especially for new and recent Ph.D.’s

Michael Karls term is expiring, and we holding elections to select his replacement.  Our two candidates are John Lorch and Patrick Sullivan. If you have not already done so please vote.
To vote, please choose one of these two options:
Option 1:

  1. Go to the MAA website and log in using your MAA username and password.
  2. Click on the ‘Vote Now’ button and follow the voting instructions.

Option 2:

  1. Go to the voting site by clicking on this link (or copying and pasting it into your browser's address field):
  2. Enter the Election Code you received in an email from MAA Election Admin: (******)
  3. Enter your Voting PIN: (****)
  4. Click on Enter and follow the online voting instructions.

The election closes at 11:59 pm PST, on March 12, 2014.


The Executive Board always invites your comments and suggestions for activities within the Section.  These can be given to any Executive Board member.
I look forward to seeing you in Fort Wayne.

Rob Merkovsky
INMAA Section Chair

* Call for papers due date extended to Friday, March 21.

Contributed Talks: A web form was available on the left under "Call for Papers," until Friday, March 21, 2014.
Rooms for talks all have computer projection, laptop connections, and white board or black board. If you need an overhead projector or other equipment, there is space on the form to inform the organizers.
There will be time slots for contributed talks on both Friday and Saturday.

Using the EventBrite web form (NOW CLOSED) for registration and paying by credit card is preferred; however if you want to pay by check and register by mail, there is a paper form PDF you can send to the Indiana Section Secretary, to arrive by Monday morning, March 31, 2014. Late registration will also be available on-site.


Indiana College Mathematics Competition: Friday afternoon.

For more information on the invited talks and the rest of the program, see the Preliminary Program page for the current draft of the schedule and abstracts.

Comments? Email the Public Information Officer.
MAA online Disclaimer