Mathematical Association
of America

Meetings and Events
       Fall 2017
         Call for Papers
         Meeting Registration Form
        Meeting Info
            Preliminary Program
            Lodging & Directions
        Past Meetings
        Future Meetings
        National Events
        Other Events
        Local Checklist

        Current Newsletter
        Section Chair Statement
        Governor's Column
        Section News
        Conference Pictures
        Section History
        Past Newsletters

        Executive Board
        Section Bylaws
        Past Members

        Registration Forms
        Results & Test Archive
        Past Winners

Section Awards
        MAA Service
Schools and Outreach
        Indiana Schools
        College Visitors Program
Indiana Project NExT
Various Links


2016-2017 Standing Committees

Nominating Committee

Michael Karls, Ball State University
mkarls (at)

Melissa Desjarlais, Valparaiso University
melissa.desjarlais (at)

Derek Thompson, Taylor University
drthompson (at)

Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee

Robert Merkovsky, Purdue University Northwest
merk (at)

Mindy Capaldi, Valparaiso University
mindy.capaldi (at)

Patrick Sullivan, Valparaiso University
patrick.sullivan (at)

Distinguished Teaching Award Selection Committee

Haseeb Kazi, Trine University
kazih (at)
Previous year's award recipient

Andy Rich, Manchester University
africh (at)
Section Chair

Daniel Kiteck, Indiana Wesleyan University
daniel.kiteck (at)
Past Chair

John Rickert, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
john.rickert (at)
Past Past Past Chair

Alain Togbe, Purdue University Northwest
atogbe (at)
Past Past Chair and Committee Chair

The Nominating Committee and the Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee are appointed by the Chair with the advice of the Executive Board. Current practice appoints members for three-year rotating terms. As specified by a motion passed by the Section on April 11, 1992, the Distinguished Teaching Award Selection Committee consists of the Current Chair, Past Chair, Past Past Chair (serving as committee chair), Past Past Past Chair, and the previous year's award recipient.

Committees and Appointed Positions

William Turner Wabash College turnerw (at) Newsletter Editor Since 2008
Adam Coffman IPFW coffmana (at) Abstracts Editor Since 2014
Rick Gillman Valparaiso University rick.gillman (at) Historian of the Section Since 2015
Lauren Decker Trine University deckerl (at) Assistant Historian of the Section Since 2015
G. Elton Graves Rose-Hulman g.e.graves (at) Regional Coordinator of the American Mathematical Competition Since 1990
David Housman Goshen College dhousman (at) Indiana Section Visitors Program Coordinator Since 2012


Indiana Project NExT committee

Melissa Lindsey (Indiana Wesleyan)
Livia Hummel (University of Indianapolis)
Tiffany Kolba (Valparaiso)
Alex Capaldi (Valparaiso)

Vice Coordinator




MAA Indiana Section Excel files:
[ Indiana Liaisons (updated 2015) and Dept Heads (updated 2015)]

Comments? Email the Public Information Officer.
MAA online Disclaimer