Meetings and Events
       Fall 2018
         Call for Papers
         Meeting Registration Form
        Meeting Info
            Preliminary Program
            Lodging & Directions
        Past Meetings
        Future Meetings
        National Events
        Other Events
        Local Checklist

        Current News
        Section Chair Statement
        Section Representative's Report
        Conference Pictures
        Section History
        Past News

        Executive Board
        Section Bylaws
        Past Members

        Registration Forms
        Results & Test Archive
        Past Winners

Section Awards
        MAA Service
Schools and Outreach
        Indiana Schools
        College Visitors Program
Indiana Project NExT
Various Links



Nominations now open for the 2019 award - due date is Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019.

The Indiana Section's Teaching Award Selection Committee will choose one of the nominees for the Section Award. The awardee for 2019, if any, will be honored at the Spring 2019 Section Meeting, and will be widely recognized and acknowledged within the Section. The awardee will also be the official Section candidate for the pool of Section awardees from which the national recipients of the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards will be selected (except that one of the national winners may be selected from another source). There will be at most three national awardees, each of whom will be honored at a national MAA meeting.

Anyone is entitled to make a nomination, but nominations from chairs in departments of mathematical sciences are especially solicited. Although it is not mandatory, involvement of a nominee in preparing the nomination packet is permitted and encouraged. However, self-nomination is not permitted. A previous nominee for this award who did not become a Section awardee can be nominated again. Indeed, the Section has instructed the selection committee that "meritorious nominations for the Distinguished Teaching Award which do not result in an award will be continued as active nominations for the next year's Distinguished Teaching Award and, if again not successful, will be continued for a third year as well.''


  • College or university teachers assigned at least half-time during the academic year to teaching of a mathematical science in a public or private college or university (from two-year college teaching through teaching at the Ph.D. level) in the United States or Canada. Those on approved leave (sabbatical or other) during the academic year in which they are nominated qualify if they fulfilled the requirements in the previous year.
  • At least five years teaching experience in a mathematical science.
  • Membership in the Mathematical Association of America.


The nominees should
  • be widely recognized as extraordinarily successful in their teaching*
  • have teaching effectiveness that can be documented
  • have had influence in their teaching beyond their own institutions**
  • foster curiosity and generate excitement about mathematics in their students.
* "teaching'' is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching (it may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level, for example, the Putnam Prize Competition or the Mathematical Contest in Modeling, or attracting students to become majors in a mathematical science or to become Ph.D. candidates).
** "influence beyond their own institution'' can take many forms, including demonstrated lasting impact on alumni, influence on the profession through curricular revisions in college mathematics teaching with national impact, influential innovative books on the teaching of college mathematics, etc.

Nominators should submit a narrative describing the nominee's extraordinary success in teaching, including information on the nominee's background, experience, teaching style, special contributions, other teaching awards, and any additional evidence of the nominee's unusual achievement in teaching. Further types of evidence may include summaries of peer or student evaluations, comments on teaching, possible increases in numbers of undergraduate or graduate degrees given in mathematics (with clear evidence of the nominee's substantial responsibility for them), possible student successes in mathematics competitions (with clear evidence of the nominee's substantial responsibility for them), etc.

As a guide for writing a nomination, but not a required format, nominators may review the MAA's Nomination Form for its national-level award. A winning application, when forwarded to the MAA, may be revised or expanded to conform to the national standard format.

Please send each 2019 nomination packet to the section's Secretary:

Haseeb Kazi
Department of Mathematics and Informatics
Trine University
1 University Ave.
, IN 46703
(260) 665-4248

email: kazih (at)

so as to be received no later than Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019.

We look forward to your participation in this exciting MAA venture of taking substantive action to honor extraordinarily successful teaching. We want to see such teaching recognized at all post-secondary school levels. We depend on you to help us identify those who merit such recognition.

Comments? Email the Public Information Officer.
MAA online Disclaimer