Meetings and Events
       Fall 2018
         Call for Papers
         Meeting Registration Form
        Meeting Info
            Preliminary Program
            Lodging & Directions
        Past Meetings
        Future Meetings
        National Events
        Other Events
        Local Checklist

        Current News
        Section Chair Statement
        Section Representative's Report
        Conference Pictures
        Section History
        Past News

        Executive Board
        Section Bylaws
        Past Members

        Registration Forms
        Results & Test Archive
        Past Winners

Section Awards
        MAA Service
Schools and Outreach
        Indiana Schools
        College Visitors Program
Indiana Project NExT
Various Links


Indiana Section of the Mathematical Association of America
Distinguished Service Award

Citation to

Cathy Murphy

The Indiana Section Distinguished Service Award was initiated in 1993 to honor a member of the Section by acknowledging his or her extraordinary contributions to the Section and outstanding efforts consistent with the stated purposes of the Mathematical Association of America and the Section, namely, assisting in promoting the interests of, and improving education in, the mathematical sciences in America, especially at the collegiate level.

Among the many Section members deserving such recognition is the one individual we honor this evening. She has been one of our most committed leaders and has always been willing to go the distance for the section. This is particularly significant since her home is not in the section!

This individual I am speaking of is Catherine Murphy of Purdue University, Calumet. Since coming to Purdue, Cathy has served her department as a superbly effective classroom teacher, and as department Head. Her department has demonstrated their confidence in her work by supporting her re-appointment to this position for a record number of reappointments.

In addition to her terms as vice-chair and chair of the Section in 1984 and 1985, she completed a term as the Section's Governor, holding that office from 1993 through 1996. She has also been an MAA Visiting Lecturer.

Congratulations to Catherine Murphy, the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

Steve Carlson, Chair
Indiana Section of the Mathematical Association of America
March 14, 1997

Comments? Email the Public Information Officer.
MAA online Disclaimer