Meetings and Events
       Fall 2018
         Call for Papers
         Meeting Registration Form
        Meeting Info
            Preliminary Program
            Lodging & Directions
        Past Meetings
        Future Meetings
        National Events
        Other Events
        Local Checklist

        Current News
        Section Chair Statement
        Section Representative's Report
        Conference Pictures
        Section History
        Past News

        Executive Board
        Section Bylaws
        Past Members

        Registration Forms
        Results & Test Archive
        Past Winners

Section Awards
        MAA Service
Schools and Outreach
        Indiana Schools
        College Visitors Program
Indiana Project NExT
Various Links


Spring 2017 Section Chair's Statement



INMAA Spring Meeting: Mar. 24-25, 2017, at Earlham College

Dear IN MAA Colleagues,

Greetings!  I hope that the semester is going well.

I invite you to our spring meeting Friday, March 24, and Saturday March 25 at Earlham College in Richmond, Indiana.  The plenary speakers are: first, Jennifer Quinn, a national MAA officer, of University of Washington, Tacoma, speaking on “Epic Math Battles: Counting vs. Matching” and “The Combinatorialization of Linear Recurrences;” and second, Dave Kung, current director of Project NExT (New Experiences in Teaching), of St. Mary’s College of Maryland, speaking on “Harmonious Equations: an Exploration of Math & Music.”  Indiana’s section of Project NExT will be hosting a panel discussion on an education topic.

The deadline for early registration is Friday, March 10.

For undergraduates, we are hosting the annual “Friendly” Indiana Collegiate Mathematics Competition (ICMC) on Friday (Registration deadline Fri. 3/10; Late registration deadline: Wed. 3/22), and on Saturday will be a workshop “The Mathematics of Star Trek.”  There will also be a mathematical game show Saturday afternoon.

Please consider giving a talk.  The deadline for submission is Friday, March 10. I also invite you to look into the College Visitors Program where the Section will pay for a visitor to give a talk at your institution. All information for the spring meeting, the College Visitors Program, and more, is found at .

We had a wonderful fall 2016 meeting at Purdue University, West Lafayette, and I want to particularly thank the local host Edray Goins.

I also would like to take this opportunity to thank many people that make our IN MAA meetings possible. I thank the executive board: Andy Rich, Vice Chair; Alex Capaldi, Treasurer; Haseeb Kazi, Secretary; Alain Togbe, Past Chair; John Lorch, Governor; Paul Fonstad, Student Activities Coordinator; and Josh Holden, Public Information Officer.  I thank many more including David Housman heading up our College Visitors Program, Melissa Lindsey leading Indiana’s Section NExT, William Turner editing our newsletter, Adam Coffman editing meeting abstracts, and historian and assistant historian Rick Gillman and Laruen Decker, respectively.  There are also committees and many other behind the scenes work.  Thanks to all!

The executive board endorses a one-year extension of service for both Section Secretary Haseeb Kazi (Trine University) and Treasurer Alex Capaldi (Valparaiso University) for the sake of continuity as the spring 2018 meeting will be a tri-section meeting with the Michigan and Illinois sections.  This recommendation of extension will be presented at the annual business meeting for general approval.  As my term as Section Chair expires at the close of the spring 2017 meeting, Andy Rich (Manchester University) will become the Chair of the section for 2017-2018.  The nominating Committee has put forward Lara Pudwell (Valparaiso University) as a nominee for the Vice Chair for 2017-2018.  Other nominations for the above positions will also be accepted. Note that the Vice Chair for 2017-2018 will then become Chair for 2018-2019.

The present Section Governor, John Lorch, will end his term this year.  The position of Governor is being replaced by the position of “Section Representative.”  You should have an email to allow you to vote for our Section Representative, and the voting is open until March 9.

I thank Josh Holden (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology) for agreeing to serve as Public Information Officer one more year, even though his original three-year commitment is ending this school year.  Paul Fonstad (Franklin College) will be continuing his multi-year commitment this coming school year as Student Activities Coordinator.  Thanks again, Paul!

The executive board welcomes comments.  Feel free to contact me at .

I look forward to seeing many of you at Earlham soon!

Daniel Kiteck
IN MAA Section Chair ’16-‘17



Comments? Email the Public Information Officer.
MAA online Disclaimer