Meetings and Events
       Spring 2019
         Call for Papers
         Meeting Registration Form
        Meeting Info
            Preliminary Program
            Lodging & Directions
        Past Meetings
        Future Meetings
        National Events
        Other Events
        Local Checklist

        Current News
        Section Chair Statement
        Section Representative's Report
        Conference Pictures
        Section History
        Past News

        Executive Board
        Section Bylaws
        Past Members

        Registration Forms
        Results & Test Archive
        Past Winners

Section Awards
        MAA Service
Schools and Outreach
        Indiana Schools
        College Visitors Program
Indiana Project NExT
Various Links


Spring 2012 - Column

Matt DeLong awarded 2012 Haimo Teaching Award by the Mathematical Association of America


The Indiana Section of the MAA congratulates Matt DeLong, Taylor University, whose teaching was recognized on a national level with the MAA Haimo Award!

The Mathematical Association of America has selected Matthew DeLong (Taylor University), Susan Loepp (Williams College), and Cynthia Wyels (California State University Channel Islands) as the 2012 winners of the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

In 1991, the Mathematical Association of America instituted the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics to honor college or university teachers who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful and whose teaching effectiveness has been shown to have had influence beyond their own institutions.

This year's Haimo winners each presented a lecture during the MAA Presentations by Teaching Award Winners session, January 6 at the 2012 Joint Mathematics Meetings in Boston, Massachusetts.

Matt's nomination for the national award came about through his selection as the 2010 recipient of the Indiana Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. Matt was also previously nationally recognized as a 2005 recipient of the MAA's Henry L. Alder Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Beginning College or University Mathematics Faculty Member. The slides from his Alder Award presentation appeared as a column in the Fall 2005 edition of this Newsletter.

Matt has served the Section in several ways.  Between 2006 and 2009, he served on the executive board as the Treasurer of the Indiana Section of the MAA.  At the Spring 2009 Indiana Section meeting at IUPUI, Matt led a student workshop on Knot Theory, and he currently serves the section as a member of the Indiana Section Distinguished Teaching Award Selection Committee.


For more information on this award and its recipients:


Photos from the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Boston, January 2012
(first photo courtesy Francis Su)
2012 Haimo Award Winners Cynthia Wyels (California State University Channel Islands), Matthew DeLong (Taylor University), Susan Loepp (Williams College).
(next two photos courtesy the DeLong family)
MAA Presentations by Teaching Award Winners session
(next three photos courtesy Francis Su)




Comments? Email the Public Information Officer.
MAA online Disclaimer