Indiana Collegiate Mathematics Competition (ICMC)

About the ICMC

The Indiana Collegiate Mathematics Competition, often referred to as the ICMC, is a team-based competition for students from area colleges and universities that takes place during the spring meeting of the Indiana Section of the MAA. In this competition, students spend two hours working in teams of up to three members to solve a series of questions on a wide range of mathematical topics. The ICMC began in 1966 and is still going strong!

Most Recent Competition

120 undergraduates on 40 teams from 14 colleges and universities competed in the 2019 Indiana Collegiate Mathematics Competition (ICMC) at the University of Indianapolis on April 5, 2019. Congratulations to the top three teams!

  1. Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (Zixin Fan, Ruixin Feng, Jiasheng Hu)
  2. Indiana University (Anthony Coniglio, Nathanial Lowry, Tiancheng Xu)
  3. Taylor University (Drew Anderson, Jordan Crawford, Alexander McFarland)

Archive of Previous Competitions

The problems and solutions for the 1966 through 2000 competitions are available in the following book published by the MAA:

A Friendly Mathematics Competition: Thirty-five Years of Teamwork in Indiana. Edited by Rick Gillman. MAA Problem Books Series. Mathematical Association of America, Washington, DC, 2003. Print ISBN:978-0-88385-808-8.

John Rickert from Rose-Hulman maintains a list of winning teams from past ICMC competitions.