Illinois Section MAA

Business Meeting Minutes

March 13, 2021

Virtual

Ellen Ziliak called the meeting to order at 8:16 a.m. She shared the agenda, which was accepted as written. The minutes were projected. There was one typo in the minutes; the minutes were approved as amended.

Section Representative: (Tim Comar) Tim showed highlights of a PowerPoint from MAA that he has made available through MAA Connect. These highlights included the MAA's mission and vision, MAA Connect, member opportunities, AMC, departmental memberships, member benefits awards, information on MathFest, MAA Press and publications, membership categories, new Section Lecture series (through AWM and NAM), Tondeur grants, PIC math, a thank you to donors, and virtual programming.

Nominating Committee: (Elen Ziliak) Ellen presented the following slate from the Nominating Committee: Scott Zinser of Aurora University and Catherine Crawford of Elmhurst College for Directors at Large, Chris Bailey of College of DuPage for Director for Two-Year Colleges, and Emily Olson of Millikin University for Section NExT Director. Ellen asked for nominations from the floor; there were none. A motion to approve the slate passed.

Guest from MAA: Deirdre Smeltzer, Senior Director for Programs, described her work overseeing MAA programming and external grant-funded programs. She invited section members to be in touch. She emphasized that the goal of the MAA is to support the sections.

Ellen announced that the next section meeting will be March 25-26, 2022, at Millikin University.

The next Board Meeting will be Saturday September 25 from 11 am to 1 pm at Dominican University.

A question was asked whether we wanted to try to record conference sessions in the future. There was some concern about cost but if the capacity is available. It would be a good thing to explore. Perhaps some sessions could be livestreamed. This could be a different registration category.

A motion was made for the new chair of the section to invite feedback from the section to judge interest. Incoming chair Aaron Zerhusen noted this would be a good discussion to have on MAA Connect.

Aaron and Ellen thanked all board members who had completed their terms (Sharon Robbert as Past Chair, Abby Bailey as Director for Two-Year Colleges, and Angela Antonou as Director at Large).

The meeting adjourned at 8:50 a.m. Respectfully submitted,

Pat Kiihne ISMAA Secretary/Treasurer